Changing the Cinnamon Menu Contents

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Changing the Cinnamon Menu Contents

Postby pmgant on Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:55 am

I upgraded to Mint 13 Cinnamon last night. So far everything is working but I can't find out how to edit the menu. When I click on the Menu button I see three columns, the middle one has Accessories, Office, Internet etc and the right one has the contents of the sub menu. There's also a new (different) menu on the left which has Shutdown, Log Off etc plus some useful applications such as Firefox.

How do I change the contents of this new left menu?

Right-clicking on the menu button only gives me the option of changing the middle and right menu contents.

P M Gant
pmgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:24 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Changing the Cinnamon Menu Contents

Postby caribriz on Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:30 am

Hi,

To change the applications listed on the far left side menu - the Favorites menu:

For example, to remove the Firefox icon from Favorites menu:
Click Menu > Internet > right-click Firefox > click Remove from favorites.

To add an application to Favorites from the Menu, do the above, but right-click an application > click Add to favorites.
You can rearrange the order of the icons on the Favorites menu by dragging the icons up and down.

The Lock Screen, Logout and Quit buttons below the separator are permanent.
Image
Desktop: C2D E6400 / Asus P5LD2SE / 2GB ram / Asus GeForce 210 / 320GB (WinXP) & 1TB (Mint - various)
Laptop: Asus A53E-SX1455V - i5 2450M / 4GB ram / Intel HD 3000 / 500GB (Win7/Mint 17 Cinnamon)
caribriz
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:43 am

Re: Changing the Cinnamon Menu Contents

Postby pmgant on Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:39 pm

Got it, thanks.

The secret of course is to know what the new bits are called, after which you can find them in Google :roll:

Peter M Gant
pmgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:24 pm

Re: Changing the Cinnamon Menu Contents

Postby Lord_Sunday on Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:57 am

Hopefully this isn't counted as spam or anything, cause I just wanted to say thanks for your solution. It helped a lot!

Anyways, I seriously hope they make t to where you can drag and drop. I'm thinking you're supposed to be able to, but that might be only on Linux Mint, since I'm just using Cinnamon desktop.
Lord_Sunday
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:50 am


Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests