Locking screen

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Locking screen

Postby reid on Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:17 am

Hi. New Mint user here. For many years, I used KDE under Fedora (actually started with Red Hat 3), but I was EOLed and thought I'd try something new, so I installed Mint 14 cinnamon. Everything worked! I missed KDE and all its flexibility, though, so after a few days I installed KDE through the package manager. I'm mostly up and running in KDE now (pretty easy!), but I have one small problem: When I lock the screen using the KDE lock function, it returns me to the display manager (nice) where I can login again to return to my session, but I have to also enter my password in the KDE locker! Obviously not ideal having to do it twice. Does anyone know of a fix?

Also, it looks like I'm using KDE 4.9.5, and maybe this was fixed in the new 4.10.1. Will the new version show up in the repositories?

Thanks,
Reid
reid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:06 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Locking screen

Postby catweazel on Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:02 pm

reid wrote:Also, it looks like I'm using KDE 4.9.5, and maybe this was fixed in the new 4.10.1. Will the new version show up in the repositories?

No, it won't.
Code: Select all
        $ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:kubuntu-ppa/backports
        $ sudo apt-get update
        $ sudo apt-get upgrade
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1655
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Locking screen

Postby reid on Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:59 pm

catweazel wrote:
reid wrote:Also, it looks like I'm using KDE 4.9.5, and maybe this was fixed in the new 4.10.1. Will the new version show up in the repositories?

No, it won't.
Code: Select all
        $ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:kubuntu-ppa/backports
        $ sudo apt-get update
        $ sudo apt-get upgrade
Thanks for the info! It wants to upgrade an imposing 324 packages (and skip 102), but I suppose that's okay. Here goes....
reid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:06 am


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests