Help installing Copy.com software

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Help installing Copy.com software

Postby randomvector on Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:23 am

Hi I signed up for Copy.com, which is a CLoud storage site that supports Linus. However when I download the software for Linux I have no clue how to install it. I am running Linux Mint 14 (Cinnamon) 32 bit edition.

The site is Copy.com and they offer 5GB storage or 10GB storage if you are referred. I have emailed the support team but haven't heard anything back as to instructions. The download came as a tarball and I have tried make and install but the files are described as binaries.

Here's the link for the referral page for 10GB if anyone is interested:

https://copy.com?r=4vpSbV

Here is the screenshot of the tarball contents:

Image

Any help would be great, thanks.
randomvector
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:43 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby xenopeek on Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:40 am

You showed the contents of the architecture specific folder. See the README file one directory up. Perhaps somebody can make more sense of it:
Code: Select all
To use Copy in Linux, install this tarball wherever you like. There are three
binaries available for use, described below.

1.  CopyAgent – This is a QT based UI application for the Linux GUI; it acts
    as a tray application, just like the Mac and Windows versions.
1.a     You can install overlays on certain version of Nautilus, by
        running as root CopyAgent –installOverlay.

2.  CopyConsole – This is a headless version of the Copy app. It can run
    in a terminal or as a background process.
2.a     This version won't have a login prompt, so if you haven't logged
        in before you'll need to provide at minimum a username and Copy
        folder location. If a password isn't provided at the command line,
        it will be prompted for. Example:
        CopyConsole -username=<email> -root=/home/<user>/Copy
2.b     If you've *have* previously logged in, either with CopyAgent or
        CopyConsole, then no special arguments are required.
2.c     For more options, run: CopyCommand -help

3.  CopyCmd – This is a tool that provides commandline APIs into various
    aspects of the Copy app. You can do cool things like create a link
    URL to a file in your accout or upload a file directly from into
    the cloud.
3.a     For a full list of commands, run: CopyCmd -help
3.b     Several commands require a [path] as an argument. All such paths
        must begin with / and are relative to your Copy folder. For
        example, if your Copy folder contains a subdirectory called Foo,
        and inside that is a file called Bar, then the [path] argument
        needed to refer to file Bar would be /Foo/Bar.
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13653
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby randomvector on Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:10 pm

I have read the readme file before trying to install, but found it's instructions difficult to understand. I have received an email from copy.com support it:

"You'll need to extract the files that you've downloaded, navigate to the folder that you extracted the files to, and then run the CopyAgent from terminal. We are actively working on improving the Copy experience on Linux. In the near future, running Copy on Linux should become easier.

-Zack"

I have tried opening the CopyAgent file in terminal but nothing happens, terminal does not open when I select the file and 'open in terminal' and I see no activity from anything else happening.
randomvector
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:43 pm

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby ringo00 on Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:15 pm

hi there.

after a little research -as i had the same problem- i just navigated into the folder i have the copy software extracted ( for me is /home/user/Downloads/copy/x86) and then i just hit ./CopyAgent as the programm is already compiled for our Distro
hope it helps


If nothing happens try sudo ./CopyAgent
ringo00
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby randomvector on Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:24 am

ringo00 wrote:hi there.

after a little research -as i had the same problem- i just navigated into the folder i have the copy software extracted ( for me is /home/user/Downloads/copy/x86) and then i just hit ./CopyAgent as the programm is already compiled for our Distro
hope it helps


If nothing happens try sudo ./CopyAgent


Hi I tried as suggested (I received the same instructions from the Copy.com support team). Here's what the terminal output was:

~/Downloads/copy/x86 $ ./CopyAgent
Expanded string ~/.copy /home/user/.copy
Illegal instruction

Then I tried sudo ./CopyAgent as you suggested and this is what the output was:

Expanded string ~/.copy /root/.copy

I have also opened the folder as Admin as well, and the same thing happens. Am I missing something. I can't find any trace of the CopyAgent installing.

Thanks
randomvector
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:43 pm

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby eanfrid on Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:17 am

Extract the "copy/x86" folder under "/usr/local/bin" and try to run CopyAgent from there. BTW installing executables in your home folder is not a very good idea (neither the right place to store them nor a secure way to run executables at all).
No, Linux is not a Windows clone for free - Before asking any question here...
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." (Hanlon's razor)

Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit - MATE 1.8
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: France

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby randomvector on Sat Apr 06, 2013 3:10 pm

eanfrid wrote:Extract the "copy/x86" folder under "/usr/local/bin" and try to run CopyAgent from there. BTW installing executables in your home folder is not a very good idea (neither the right place to store them nor a secure way to run executables at all).


Tried the above and still no luck. I still get this output from terminal

Expanded string ~/.copy /root/.copy

but nothing seems to happen. :(
randomvector
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:43 pm

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby eanfrid on Sat Apr 06, 2013 5:36 pm

OK I did not give enough details

1/ extract the folder content in /usr/local/bin
2/ change recursively the owner to root
Code: Select all
sudo chown -R root.root /usr/local/bin/your_extracted_folder

3/ run /usr/local/bin/your_extracted_folder/CopyAgent as user from caja/nautilus/nemo/thunar with a double-click

Image
No, Linux is not a Windows clone for free - Before asking any question here...
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." (Hanlon's razor)

Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit - MATE 1.8
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: France

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby gromada on Thu May 23, 2013 6:26 am

eanfrid wrote:OK I did not give enough details

1/ extract the folder content in /usr/local/bin
2/ change recursively the owner to root
Code: Select all
sudo chown -R root.root /usr/local/bin/your_extracted_folder

3/ run /usr/local/bin/your_extracted_folder/CopyAgent as user from caja/nautilus/nemo/thunar with a double-click

Image


What about running/installing at headless server? CopyConsole doesn't work (CopyConsole -username=<email> -root=<path>).
gromada
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:03 pm

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby eanfrid on Thu May 23, 2013 8:36 am

gromada wrote:What about running/installing at headless server? CopyConsole doesn't work (CopyConsole -username=<email> -root=<path>).

Does your "-root=<path>" argument point to a folder located in your own home (e.g /home/<myaccount>/Copy) ?
No, Linux is not a Windows clone for free - Before asking any question here...
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." (Hanlon's razor)

Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit - MATE 1.8
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: France

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby gromada on Thu May 23, 2013 3:17 pm

eanfrid wrote:
gromada wrote:What about running/installing at headless server? CopyConsole doesn't work (CopyConsole -username=<email> -root=<path>).

Does your "-root=<path>" argument point to a folder located in your own home (e.g /home/<myaccount>/Copy) ?

Yes. -root=/home/<username>/Copy
It doesn't work on headless debian server wheezy. It does work on ubuntu server, but it dies after initial synchronization - it doesn't work as a servise.
I can see one more problem: on all replicas, all files has 777 user rights! On original, dirs are 755, files 644.

Sorry for bad english...
gromada
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:03 pm

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby eanfrid on Thu May 23, 2013 5:34 pm

Sorry but I don't use this software indeed. I just "installed" it to see how it could work but didn't go anywhere forward.
No, Linux is not a Windows clone for free - Before asking any question here...
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." (Hanlon's razor)

Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit - MATE 1.8
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: France

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby untmdsprt on Sun Jul 28, 2013 5:33 pm

randomvector wrote:Hi I signed up for Copy.com, which is a CLoud storage site that supports Linus. However when I download the software for Linux I have no clue how to install it. I am running Linux Mint 14 (Cinnamon) 32 bit edition.

Any help would be great, thanks.



Just double-click on the CopyAgent icon from the desktop. That's what I did and it seemed to do fine. I don't have the contextual menu like I do on my Windows machine, but it did install the copy folder and put an icon in my menu bar.

BTW, if anyone has the correct way to install this, I'm open to hear it. :)
untmdsprt
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:35 pm

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby igrossiter on Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:34 am

Hi, I like copy very much, this is how I usually install it.

1- download copy from website copy.com
2- extract it contents
Code: Select all
tar -xvf copy_[hit tab]

3- move it to /opt/ folder
Code: Select all
sudo mv copy/ /opt/copy

4- optional - I like to download a icon too.
https://www.copy.com/include/images/images-std/about-copycrane.png?v=jenkins-Copy_Web_Production-312
download it and copy it to /opt/copy/, change its name to logo.png
5- create a ln for use a command
Code: Select all
sudo ln -s /opt/copy/x86/CopyAgent /usr/bin/copy_agent


for 64bit use

Code: Select all
sudo ln -s /opt/copy/x86_64/CopyAgent /usr/bin/copy_agent


6- create links
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /usr/share/applications/copy.desktop


and put this content on it:

Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Name=Copy
GenericName=File Synchronizer
Comment=Sync your files across computers and to the web
Exec=copy_agent
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Icon=/opt/copy/logo.png
Categories=Network;FileTransfer;
StartupNotify=false


now its just insert the copy_agent command on your startup applications.

this is the guide that I used to do this.
http://www.technoreply.com/how-to-install-sublime-text-2-on-ubuntu-12-04-unity/
igrossiter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby gspe on Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:03 am

Hi,
first of all it`s a good idea to don`t touch system file like /usr/bin etc.
So the best way to install copy (if you want to create the .desktop file) is the follow:

1- download copy from website copy.com
2- extract it contents
Code: Select all
tar -xvf copy_agent-1.37.0546.tgz


3- copy it to /opt folder (if you copy it you`ll set the permission too)
Code: Select all
sudo cp -r copy /opt


4- optional - I like to download a icon too.
https://www.copy.com/include/images/ima ... uction-312
download it, change its name to copycrane.png and copy it to /usr/share/icons/hicolor/256x256/apps
then run gtk-update-icon-cache in order to update your icon cache
Code: Select all
sudo gtk-update-icon-cache /usr/share/icons/hicolor


5- create copy.desktop
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /usr/share/applications/copy.desktop


for x86 put this content on it:
Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=Application
Name=CopyAgent
Icon=copycrane
Exec=/opt/copy/x86/CopyAgent
Comment=Sync files across computers, mobile devices, and to the web
Categories=Network;FileTransfer;
Terminal=false
StartupNotify=false
GenericName=File Synchronizer



for x86_64 put this content on it:
Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=Application
Name=CopyAgent
Icon=copycrane
Exec=/opt/copy/x86_64/CopyAgent
Comment=Sync files across computers, mobile devices, and to the web
Categories=Network;FileTransfer;
Terminal=false
StartupNotify=false
GenericName=File Synchronizer


Copy copy.desktop to /usr/share/applinations
If you want the automatic startup just insert the copy.desktop on your startup applications
gspe
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:58 am

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby sachamo on Sun Nov 03, 2013 12:59 am

I had the same problem and installed using the instructions from the last post and all is well except that everytime i login it brings up a windows relating to copy.desktop. How can i prevent it from doing that everytime i login?
sachamo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 12:49 am

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby renoon on Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:23 am

Thank you! This worked nicely for me (LM15 Cinnamon). I had a moment of frustration, but then realized that the error message was just because I had to update the version of the tarball. This worked: tar -xvf copy_agent-1.42.0277.tgz
renoon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby jahid on Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:58 am

if you are having problems installing softwares [with archives (tar,tar.bz2,zip...)] then you may find this helpful:
http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1525
jahid@Linux Mint 16 cinnamon 32 bit
User avatar
jahid
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby mfreeman on Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:07 pm

I just installed the CopyAgent for copy.com on my system (Mint 13 MATE). But when I try to use the indicator icon to "Open Copy Folder", it gives me an error saying "Failed to execute child process "nemo" (No such file or directory)." Does anyone know of a way to make it use Caja instead? I would LOVE to use Nemo, personally, but MATE seems to be pretty well hardcoded to use Caja, and Cinnamon doesn't play well with my legacy ATI graphics card, so I'm stuck. Any ideas?
mfreeman
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:11 am

Re: Help installing Copy.com software

Postby jahid on Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:57 am

you don't need to install the whole cinnamon package to get nemo. You can just install the nemo file manager package. It's in the repo.
jahid@Linux Mint 16 cinnamon 32 bit
User avatar
jahid
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], throatgorge and 28 guests