<SOLVED>How to add a desktop

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

<SOLVED>How to add a desktop

Postby Miss Bit on Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:07 am

New to Mint I am surprised that I only have 1 desktop. My previous os were Xubuntu with Mate, here I could add or remove desktops/workspaces, which I thought was normal in Linux in general. Is that not possible in Mint?
Edit: I use Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Last edited by Miss Bit on Sat May 04, 2013 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Miss Bit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:02 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby sujitnag on Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:08 am

it is very much possible.
which one you use (cinnamon,mate , kde, xfce, lxde)
User avatar
sujitnag
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:25 pm

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby Miss Bit on Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:09 am

I use Mate.
But if I only have one desktop there must be a package I can install to have more?
Miss Bit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:02 am

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby eanfrid on Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:16 pm

You don't need anything more. MATE manages virtual desktops by itself, like other DEs.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
True private storage on SpiderOak
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1769
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: => ~

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby Miss Bit on Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:28 pm

Thanks, but what do I do? How can I add another workspace?
Miss Bit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:02 am

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby eanfrid on Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:50 pm

The quickest way is to use the "workspace switcher applet" in the panel. Of course, if you removed it, you might think you only have 1 desktop.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
True private storage on SpiderOak
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1769
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: => ~

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby Miss Bit on Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:03 pm

Thank you. I have not removed the applet from the panel, I had to add it, so now I can swich between and add/remove workspaces.
Miss Bit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:02 am

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby Miss Bit on Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:16 pm

BTW I downloaded the Linux Mint MATE Edition Official User Guide, but did not find anything about workspaces in it.
Miss Bit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:02 am

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby usbtux on Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:09 pm

press ctrl, alt and right arrow to go right to a new desktop
ctrl, alt and left to go back
http://goo.gl/DXKgM LinuxMint tutorials.
Running LinuxMint 17 Cinnamon/KDE/XFCE
http://goo.gl/WFu0u Installing Mint - the screen cast videos.
linuxcounter #368850
Image
User avatar
usbtux
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:37 am

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby Miss Bit on Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:19 pm

Thanks :-)
Miss Bit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:02 am

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby stephenmcgehee on Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:01 pm

I have Workspace Switcher applet installed and enabled, but the plus button to add another workspace isn't there. The right side of the screen is completely empty when I use the Hot Corner. When I move the cursor along the right edge, the cursor does not change or anything like that.

The Hot Corner is set up and appears to work correctly. It is set to Compiz Expo, and when I place the cursor in the upper left corner, I get a smaller version of the desktop with the rest of the screen faded out.

I am using Linux Mint 13 pretty much as installed.

Any help or hints would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
stephenmcgehee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby eanfrid on Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:22 am

You are talking about "hot corner". The OP topic is about MATE configuration, not about Cinnamon's. However, if you want to configure multiple desktop for Compiz+MATE, you have to configure Compiz for multiple desktops, not MATE.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
True private storage on SpiderOak
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1769
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: => ~

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby Spinnekop on Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:35 am

Dear Miss Bit

Welcome to Linux Mint and hope you enjoy it. It can be a 'bit' of a learning curve but it is worth sticking with. IMHO Cinnamon is a 'prettier' desktop if you have the hardware for it. Cairo-dock is fun too if you like the 'Mac' look. You can have a lot of fun trying different desktop environments and customisations if that is your thing!

Enjoy :wink:

Spinnekop

(And don't be intimidated by the 'gurus'. Even they were newbies once)
User avatar
Spinnekop
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:22 pm
Location: East Molesey, Surrey, UK

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby stephenmcgehee on Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:48 am

eanfrid wrote:You are talking about "hot corner". The OP topic is about MATE configuration, not about Cinnamon's. However, if you want to configure multiple desktop for Compiz+MATE, you have to configure Compiz for multiple desktops, not MATE.

Thank you, eanfrid. Still a lot for me to figure out. I've been "doing computers" since the days when I sat at a keypunch machine and typed one line of code per Hollerith card, carried the stack of cards to the girl at the window, then waited for my name to be called to pick up a stack of green bar paper to see if the program worked. Always something new to learn. Again, thank you for putting me back on the right track.
stephenmcgehee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: How to add a desktop

Postby Miss Bit on Wed Apr 24, 2013 11:39 am

Spinnekop wrote:Dear Miss Bit

Welcome to Linux Mint and hope you enjoy it. It can be a 'bit' of a learning curve but it is worth sticking with. IMHO Cinnamon is a 'prettier' desktop if you have the hardware for it. Cairo-dock is fun too if you like the 'Mac' look. You can have a lot of fun trying different desktop environments and customisations if that is your thing!

Enjoy :wink:

Thank you very much. So far Mint with Mate looks promising, though with a few challenges, but then it won't get boring :!:
I changed to Mint to get at system 'born' with Mate, but I expect my curiosity one day will bring me to taste Cinnamon :wink:
Miss Bit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:02 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alban, cogsncogs, Pierre, xanthorea and 26 guests