Cinnamon to KDE

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:11 pm

Would anyone recommend changing from Mint 13 Cinnamon to Mint 13 / 14 KDE? I installed LMDE Cinnamon on my other computer, it's working well, and being a bit of a distro hopping junkie I like the look of Mint KDE. I had tried Kubuntu 12.04 before so I am familiar with it, but is Mint nearly identical, or is it worth a try by replacing my Mint 13 Cinnamon?
Any suggestions welcome.
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby kc1di on Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:29 pm

I would give it a try , it's I think a bit more polished that kubuntu. and I use it here on one of my machines.
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:39 pm

When I tred Kubuntu the K-Wallet app kept bugging me, constantly flashing up requests for passwords, can't remember details now, but other than that, it looked pretty good, and worked well enough.
I have tried lots of distros, but I keep coming back to Mint, it seems to be the best all rounder out there for the likes of me, an ordinary user, not a linux tech head.
Cinnamon is pretty good, but now I have LMDE Cinnamon up and running, I fancy something a little more flashy on my main laptop, just for something different if nothing else ( I have a short attention span these days ). I tried Cairo Dock on Gnome DE, but I got bored with that too.
I'll download it and give it a live spin to see how it runs, thanks.

edit: gave LM 13 KDE a live spin, it does indeed look like a slicker version of Kubuntu, obviously with Mint's input it will probably have improvements over Kubuntu, so now I just have to decide whether or not to replace LM 13 Cinnamon with it.
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby anandrkris on Fri Apr 19, 2013 8:46 am

Am running the latest KDE (4.10.2) on Mint 13 and its awesome. Check these discussions.

viewtopic.php?f=109&t=128253
viewtopic.php?f=109&t=124912

I have been using KDE for a while and the desktop experience is strikingly seamless, refined and elegant. Plasma workspace offers quite an high level customization and the more I learn, configure and use it higher is the productivity and functionality.
Read this for an elaborate review.

I think you can just disable KWallet if it is much of a bother.
Cheers,
If there is a drive, there will be a path
User avatar
anandrkris
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:13 am
Location: Chennai

Postby HoppityBob on Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:17 pm

KDE imo is miles better. You can keep it as simple if you like, or change it to do pretty much anything which is what I love, ie. forcing specific apps to specific desktops with defined size and position. Dolphin is also far and away the best file manager I've found. I simply can't tolerate the constraints any other desktop places on me now.
HoppityBob
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:59 pm

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby Orbmiser on Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:40 pm

What they said :P

Was a preferred Gnome user and use to bash KDE and some of it was valid in the old days.
But any spouting about it being a Resource Hog or that it is Bloated are spreading FUD.
It does have a bewildering array of settings and adjustments. And that is the biggest negative about it.
But learning just what I needed to get the desktop the way I wanted it.

And runs Smoooth & Snappy on my older dual-core with 4gb ram. And to desktop idle with gmail,weather,conky script weighs in at 435mb. Can have Firefox open 2-3 tabs,Dolphin File manager,Terminal open and all under 750mb.

But KDE has come a long way and has features I need like Apps remembering their Size & Position is built in.
This is critical for me as have 3 virtual workspaces on dual displays. Desktop effects all built in. Plasmoids & Widgets well can have them display on desktop or integrate in a panel. Like I do with gmail & weather. Separate Wallpapers on dual displays.Mouse wheel Cube to change Virtual Workspaces. Many little features that make for a more productive environment.

Tho hate the default Amorak for music and prefer a slimmed down version called Clementine for music.

The sad thing when I was using Cinnamon or Gnome. Many times for apps I had to rely on KDE versions anyways. As the gnome versions were not as feature rich or powerful. Like many gnome users have to resort to K3b for CD/DVD burning needs. Or Amorak or Clementine for more feature rich music management. Or Digikam for photos,etc..etc.. the list goes on.

So gave into the Force and embraced the Dark Side! :shock:
.
User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:13 pm

Wow! That's a lot of very positive feedback for KDE. I downloaded LM 13 KDE 64 bit, with KDE 4.08, and it looks vey slick compared to Kubuntu. Can't quite put my finger on what is better, it just looks better, at least on a live session.
Friday night for me is listening to Alice Cooper's radio show and tinkering with distros while sipping a beer - point being I get to take a look at different stuff and see what works, so now I have plenty to ponder because as a linux user only since last summer, I have come to like Cinnamon and I am loathe to dump it in favour of eye candy, but from above reports KDE seems so much more than that.
Decisions!
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby Orbmiser on Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:26 pm

Well no reason can't have both as I have half-a-dozen distros. Plus triple boot with Win7 & Winxp.

What I do is set up a root / and /home partitions. Get everything installed and tweak to my liking.
Then using Redo Backup http://redobackup.org/ And backup my partitions to a external usb drive.

That way I can do a complete install onto same / and /home to give a new distro a tryout.
When I'm done I boot up the Redo live CD and pick my backup distro and point it to / and /home overwriting those with the prior install. Takes a whole 15mins and back to a different flavor raring to go.

Have Ubuntu 12.10,Voyager 12.10 xfce,Funduntu,Bodhi,Cinnamon 14 and KDE all backed up.
Nice thing if I backup partitions once or twice a month takes about 20mins. Then if my linux or windows becomes borked or Hardrive dies. Then can replace hardrive install 30 mins and have my Win7,Winxp & linux flavor ready to go with minimal amount of fuss.
.
User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:35 pm

I only have a 24 GB partition to install to (to replace LM 13 Cinnamon) will that be sufficient? I store all my Windows/LM data on a separate partition
Attachments
Screenshot .png
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby Orbmiser on Fri Apr 19, 2013 7:17 pm

That's plenty and I do with less with root / like 8.3gb and /home like 13gb. And each still has plenty of room.
If going with just one partition than 20gb is fine and leave 2 or 4gb for swap. Tho yet see mine really used at all having 4gb system ram.

If using two partitions / and /home than 10gb for each is also fine.
As long as you aren't going to be storing movies,music,etc.. I have those on external usb drive and access them from there.
.
User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:04 am

Thanks, the 24GB partition sda5 above is LM 13 Cinnamon at the moment, including /home, and any data I have is transferred to sda3 (Data) partition as is any data from Windows Vista (sda2) although Vista is almost never used, it has a donated copy of Office 2010 (no discs), which my wife uses, so it must stay.
Would it be better to use LM 13 or 14 KDE?
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby kc1di on Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:10 am

excollier wrote:Would it be better to use LM 13 or 14 KDE?


14 has a newer version of KDE , but 13 is long term support and will be updated for security for 5 years + I use 13 on one machine (work) and 14 on my play machine that way get to see the difference. with 14 you'll have to eventuall upgrade to 15 when it comes out.
good luck :)
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:32 am

Yeah, I originally went for LM13 Cinnamon for the LTS, so I guess that would be a more sensible option.
Thanks for all the views and help.
I'll let you know how it goes.
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:33 am

Right, I installed LM 13 KDE, but Firefox is only at versio 12! and not showing any signs of updating as normal.
I ran sudo apt-get update but many packages failed and in update manager too, which is showing system up to date.
Some work needed I guess, but what?

Here's what I get: (Sad for a new install).
Code: Select all
Failed to fetch http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/partner/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.150 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/partner/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.150 80]
Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-security/main/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.181 80]
Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-security/restricted/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.181 80]
Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-security/universe/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.181 80]
Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-security/multiverse/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.181 80]
Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-security/main/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.181 80]
Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-security/restricted/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.181 80]
Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-security/universe/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.181 80]
Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-security/multiverse/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.181 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/main/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/restricted/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/universe/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/multiverse/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/main/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/restricted/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/universe/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya/multiverse/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://packages.medibuntu.org/dists/maya/free/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found
Failed to fetch http://packages.medibuntu.org/dists/maya/non-free/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found
Failed to fetch http://packages.medibuntu.org/dists/maya/free/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found
Failed to fetch http://packages.medibuntu.org/dists/maya/non-free/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-updates/main/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-updates/restricted/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-updates/universe/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-updates/multiverse/binary-amd64/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-updates/main/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-updates/restricted/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-updates/universe/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/maya-updates/multiverse/binary-i386/Packages  404  Not Found [IP: 91.189.92.177 80]
Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby anandrkris on Sat Apr 20, 2013 10:20 am

For checking which version of firefox is latest you could try this terminal
Code: Select all
sudo apt-cache policy firefox

Not sure....but you could try this in Mint Update Manager changing the server for download.
Edit Software Source > Linux Mint Software > Download from Other > Select Best Server
Cheers,
If there is a drive, there will be a path
User avatar
anandrkris
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:13 am
Location: Chennai

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:27 am

Thanks, with LM 13 Cinnamon that it replaced, Firefox was version 20, as with LMDE and Ubuntu 12.04.2, which LM 13 KDE is based on.
I tried your suggestion, but the same result is returned.
And here is the terminal output:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-cache policy firefox
[sudo] password for ian:
firefox:
  Installed: 12.0+build1-0ubuntu0.12.04.1
  Candidate: 12.0+build1-0ubuntu0.12.04.1
  Version table:
 *** 12.0+build1-0ubuntu0.12.04.1 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby kc1di on Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:20 pm

here an article on how to install the latest firefox :
http://www.noobslab.com/2013/04/install-latest-firefox-in-ubuntu.html
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:19 pm

Thanks, that's fixed Firefox, now the updates issue.
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby kc1di on Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:30 pm

excollier wrote:Thanks, that's fixed Firefox, now the updates issue.

ok I think this will fix the update issue for you
go to synaptic >settings >repositories> when the Software Sources come up go down to the little dropdown box about midway down , click on it and select other then select a different server and try refreshing it.

see if it refreshes ok , if it does then update should work.
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Cinnamon to KDE

Postby excollier on Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:40 pm

Tried that earlier, no go unfortunately.
Registered Linux user #557695
CompTIA A+
KWheezy , Debian Wheezy 7.6 XFCE (headless on an old P4 desktop), SolydX BE, Raspberry Pi
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests