[solved] xrdp and rdesktop over 3G networks?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[solved] xrdp and rdesktop over 3G networks?

Postby electroaudio on Sun Apr 21, 2013 8:17 am

Problem solved, the router needed to be rebooted. Now it works..


I have installed xrdp on the linuxbox (mint 11 katya) and rdesktop on the Nokia N900 (debian squeeze) cellphone , and enabled port 3389 in the router.
It works perfectly on my private network (much better than vnc..) but when i try to connect over 3G then rdesktop quits with "connection reset by peer" or some similar text.

I am guessing that it is something securityrelated in xrdp when the connection goes thru the router, since i also have tried other ports than the default 3389 just incase that port was blocked by the 3G network.

So, what settings do i need to change for xrdp to accept connections over internet? (where is the settings for xrdp?)
-There is also something called "domain" below username and password in rdesktop, what is that for?
Last edited by electroaudio on Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.
electroaudio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:09 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: xrdp and rdesktop over 3G networks?

Postby electroaudio on Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:00 am

i found the configfiles in /etc/xrdp but they didnt contain anything useful.
according to some sources on microsofts rdp implementation, domain has to be specified when connectig thru a router. but i havent used domain when i have connected to my windows 7 home machine over internet before.

... btw this message was written with ssh -X ,but i find xrdp to be much faster and much more responsive then a xsession over ssh.
electroaudio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:09 pm

Re: xrdp and rdesktop over 3G networks?

Postby electroaudio on Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:02 am

But now i have tried to connect with two windowsmachines (w7 and xp) over internet and neither of them gets any contact with the server. so, do i need to open up more ports than 3389 to get xrdp to work?

Does anyone here have any experience with xrdp or rdp at all?
electroaudio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:09 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 19 guests