[solved] xrdp and rdesktop over 3G networks?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[solved] xrdp and rdesktop over 3G networks?

Postby electroaudio on Sun Apr 21, 2013 8:17 am

Problem solved, the router needed to be rebooted. Now it works..


I have installed xrdp on the linuxbox (mint 11 katya) and rdesktop on the Nokia N900 (debian squeeze) cellphone , and enabled port 3389 in the router.
It works perfectly on my private network (much better than vnc..) but when i try to connect over 3G then rdesktop quits with "connection reset by peer" or some similar text.

I am guessing that it is something securityrelated in xrdp when the connection goes thru the router, since i also have tried other ports than the default 3389 just incase that port was blocked by the 3G network.

So, what settings do i need to change for xrdp to accept connections over internet? (where is the settings for xrdp?)
-There is also something called "domain" below username and password in rdesktop, what is that for?
Last edited by electroaudio on Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.
electroaudio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:09 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: xrdp and rdesktop over 3G networks?

Postby electroaudio on Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:00 am

i found the configfiles in /etc/xrdp but they didnt contain anything useful.
according to some sources on microsofts rdp implementation, domain has to be specified when connectig thru a router. but i havent used domain when i have connected to my windows 7 home machine over internet before.

... btw this message was written with ssh -X ,but i find xrdp to be much faster and much more responsive then a xsession over ssh.
electroaudio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:09 pm

Re: xrdp and rdesktop over 3G networks?

Postby electroaudio on Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:02 am

But now i have tried to connect with two windowsmachines (w7 and xp) over internet and neither of them gets any contact with the server. so, do i need to open up more ports than 3389 to get xrdp to work?

Does anyone here have any experience with xrdp or rdp at all?
electroaudio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:09 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests