How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby africanlion on Sun Apr 28, 2013 6:27 am

I have an ATI RV370. How do i update this. I tried through Synaptic and get this message

Error.odt
(45.8 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
africanlion
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby lahirdenganselamat on Sun Apr 28, 2013 6:46 am

Make sure you have reload the package list (using reload button on synaptic) before install or upgrade.
You can also provide us with more detail about your system, try post here the result of running this command on terminal:
Code: Select all
inxi -Frx
ASUS 1215B AMD E-350 with Linux Mint 15 KDE, Precise Puppy, and Saluki
User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby catweazel on Sun Apr 28, 2013 6:53 am

africanlion wrote:I have an ATI RV370. How do i update this. I tried through Synaptic...

You will need the legacy drivers for that card.
Code: Select all
$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:makson96/fglrx
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get upgrade
$ sudo apt-get install fglrx-legacy
$ sudo reboot
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby africanlion on Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:43 am

catweazel wrote:
africanlion wrote:I have an ATI RV370. How do i update this. I tried through Synaptic...

You will need the legacy drivers for that card.
Code: Select all
$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:makson96/fglrx
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get upgrade
$ sudo apt-get install fglrx-legacy
$ sudo reboot


Do i copy and paste all the above in one go into terminal or do it line by line?
africanlion
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:33 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby africanlion on Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:45 am

lahirdenganselamat wrote:Make sure you have reload the package list (using reload button on synaptic) before install or upgrade.
You can also provide us with more detail about your system, try post here the result of running this command on terminal:
Code: Select all
inxi -Frx



How do i reload the package list

Code: Select all
System:    Host: africamlion-Dimension-5000 Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.6.3)
           Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Machine:   System: Dell product: Dimension 5000
           Mobo: Dell model: 0W5363 Bios: Dell version: A07 date: 11/08/2005
CPU:       Single core Intel Pentium 4 CPU (-HT-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (sse sse2 sse3) bmips: 5985.09
           Clock Speeds: 1: 2992.547 MHz 2: 2992.547 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV370 5B60 [Radeon X300 (PCIE)] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1280x1024@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV370 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card: Creative Labs SB Audigy driver: snd_emu10k1 port: c8c0 bus-ID: 04:00.0 Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card: Broadcom BCM4401 100Base-T driver: b44 ver: 2.0 bus-ID: 04:03.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:11:43:15:cc:c2
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 82.0GB (28.0% used) 1: /dev/sda Maxtor_6Y080M0 82.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 76G used: 22G (30%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 0.53GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors:   Error: You do not have the sensors app installed.
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
           deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ maya main upstream import romeo backport
           deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com/ maya main upstream import romeo backport #Added by software-properties
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ precise partner
           deb http://packages.medibuntu.org/ precise free non-free
           deb http://mirrors.dotsrc.org/getdeb/ubuntu precise-getdeb apps
           deb-src http://mirrors.dotsrc.org/getdeb/ubuntu precise-getdeb apps
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/damnvid-ppa-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/damnvid/ppa/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/damnvid/ppa/ubuntu precise main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
           deb http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-talkplugin.list
           deb http://dl.google.com/linux/talkplugin/deb/ stable main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/local-repository.list
           deb file:///usr/share/local-repository binary/
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/upubuntu-com-office-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/upubuntu-com/office/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/upubuntu-com/office/ubuntu precise main
Info:      Processes: 132 Uptime: 26 min Memory: 391.3/1505.8MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.6.3 Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.33
africanlion
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:33 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby africanlion on Sun Apr 28, 2013 6:05 pm

catweazel wrote:
africanlion wrote:I have an ATI RV370. How do i update this. I tried through Synaptic...

You will need the legacy drivers for that card.
Code: Select all
$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:makson96/fglrx
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get upgrade
$ sudo apt-get install fglrx-legacy
$ sudo reboot


8) 8)
I did the above and rebooted. Does that mean its now updated/upgraded?
africanlion
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:33 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby catweazel on Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:05 am

africanlion wrote:I did the above and rebooted. Does that mean its now updated/upgraded?

The answer to that question depends on the output of this command:
Code: Select all
$ glxinfo | grep version
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby africanlion on Mon Apr 29, 2013 6:04 am

catweazel wrote:
africanlion wrote:I did the above and rebooted. Does that mean its now updated/upgraded?

The answer to that question depends on the output of this command:
Code: Select all
$ glxinfo | grep version



Code: Select all
africamlion@africamlion-Dimension-5000 ~ $ glxinfo | grep version
server glx version string: 1.4
client glx version string: 1.4
GLX version: 1.4
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
africamlion@africamlion-Dimension-5000 ~ $


africanlion
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:33 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby catweazel on Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:13 pm

Hm. Something is missing, could be because the driver is relatively old. Post the output of inxi -Gx.
Code: Select all
$ inxi -Gx
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby africanlion on Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:16 pm

Code: Select all
africamlion@africamlion-Dimension-5000 ~ $ inxi -Gx
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV370 5B60 [Radeon X300 (PCIE)] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1280x1024@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV370 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
africamlion@africamlion-Dimension-5000 ~ $
africanlion
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:33 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby catweazel on Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:01 am

Bugger. According to that, you're still using the old driver.

My apologies, but I don't believe I can help you beyond that. The rest I'm not sure of; for example, I think you might need xorg 1.12 but I'm uncertain. It's best I admit my limits than help you brick your Mint by trying to hide from a lack of knowledge. Hopefully someone will come along who knows more about the legacy driver.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby eanfrid on Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:13 am

For such an old device I think you should stick to the open-source driver if no software has to use fglrx. Performances would not be amazingly higher or better with fglrx on this kind of hardware. From my own experience, up to the Radeon HD2xxx series, there is now not much performance differences between open-source and AMD/ATI proprietary driver.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: there is no place like ~

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby africanlion on Wed May 01, 2013 5:33 am

Catweazel thanks for trying anyway

@Eanfrid, i am happy to use an open source driver. How do o install one please
africanlion
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:33 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby eanfrid on Wed May 01, 2013 5:41 am

You already do use them :)

Code: Select all
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1280x1024@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV370 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes


It would be even better with the 3.5.x (3.5.0-27 ATM) kernel that you can install from your package manager.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: there is no place like ~

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby africanlion on Wed May 01, 2013 4:47 pm

eanfrid wrote:You already do use them :)

Code: Select all
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1280x1024@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV370 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes


It would be even better with the 3.5.x (3.5.0-27 ATM) kernel that you can install from your package manager.



I typed in 3.5.0-27 ATM in Synaptic and it didnt show anything. What should i type so install it please
africanlion
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:33 pm

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby eanfrid on Wed May 01, 2013 5:36 pm

ATM means "at the moment" :) Look for "linux-image-3.5.0-27-generic" (and the corresponding linux-headers if you ever have to compile some other modules).
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: there is no place like ~

Re: How do i upfate ATI display/graphics driver

Postby catweazel on Thu May 02, 2013 1:23 am

eanfrid wrote:...

Thanks for catching my pass.

Cheers.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests