Where does Caja mount a samba share?[SOLVED]

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Where does Caja mount a samba share?[SOLVED]

Postby dd058 on Sat May 11, 2013 11:33 am

Hello,
Does anybody know where Caja mounts a samba share? When I mount the share (in Caja, File->Connect to Server...) I can see the icon on my desktop and I can browse and open files on my samba server. However, when I look at folder /home/myUserName/Desktop in a shell command line I see nothing like my samba directory. Then, I look at /mnt or /media but there is nothing there either...
Thanks,
dd058
Last edited by dd058 on Sat May 11, 2013 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans - John Lennon
dd058
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:03 am
Location: Reading, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Where does Caja mount a samba share?

Postby altair4 on Sat May 11, 2013 12:09 pm

It depends on which version of Mint you are using. It's either here in a hidden directory:
/home/your-user-name/.gvfs

OR here in a non-hidden directory:
/run/user/your-user-name/gvfs
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6077
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Where does Caja mount a samba share?

Postby dd058 on Sat May 11, 2013 12:29 pm

I am using Linux Mint Debian Edition. There is nothing in /home/my-user-name/.gvfs and /run/user/ does not exist at all...
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans - John Lennon
dd058
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:03 am
Location: Reading, UK

Re: Where does Caja mount a samba share?

Postby altair4 on Sat May 11, 2013 12:41 pm

Didn't realize I was posting the the LMDE part of the forum, sorry about that.

You need to install some stuff. Actually, just so we don't have to come back to this you might as well add all of the samba related stuff that Debian leaves out:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install gvfs-fuse
sudo apt-get install libsmbclient
sudo apt-get install smbclient
sudo apt-get install python-smbc

Then add yourself to the fuse group:
Code: Select all
sudo gpasswd -a your-user-name fuse

Log out and log in again for the group memebership to take affect and see if the .gvfs folder holds your mount point when you use Connect to Server.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6077
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Where does Caja mount a samba share?[SOLVED]

Postby dd058 on Sat May 11, 2013 5:35 pm

Only packages gvfs-fuse and python-smbc had to be installed. The other two you mentioned were already installed. I sorted my group permission, rebooted and the samba share appears in the ~/.gvfs directory.

The mount command is not empty anymore which makes me happy
Code: Select all
mount -l | grep gvfs
gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/dd058/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=1000,group_id=1000)


Thanks for the help. I hope this helps someone else, too.

A small note.
This whole thing started by me wanting to:
1. be able to use mint's graphical 'Backup Tool' to backup to a samba share
2. be able to do a backup with a shell script (so I started looking for the mount point that caja uses for network shares).

The answer to no 1: it is still not possible because the backup tool does not allow you to choose a hidden destination folder (~./gvfs). Ha!
The answer to no 2: You can set up the samba share to be mounted wherever you like at the start of your backup shell script and then do your backup. You don't need ~/.gvfs.

Thanks again
dd058
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans - John Lennon
dd058
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:03 am
Location: Reading, UK

Re: Where does Caja mount a samba share?[SOLVED]

Postby altair4 on Sat May 11, 2013 6:24 pm

One of the advantages - perhaps the only advantage - of the new gvfs mount point in the latest Ubuntu based Mint is that it's no longer in a hidden directory and it's no longer in the user's home directory: /run/user/$USER/gvfs. But like many things in life with the good comes the bad. Instead of an actual mount point that looks like this:
$USER/.gvfs/share-name on server-name

You get this butt-ugly thing:
/run/user/$USER/gvfs/smb-share:server=server-name,share=share-name

At least now it has no spaces in the path.
The answer to no 2: You can set up the samba share to be mounted wherever you like at the start of your backup shell script and then do your backup. You don't need ~/.gvfs.

Just out of curiosity did you change the mount point with a:
/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-fuse-daemon /path/to/new/moutpoint

Or did you go old-school with a "sudo mount -t cifs ..."
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6077
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Where does Caja mount a samba share?[SOLVED]

Postby dd058 on Sun May 19, 2013 8:52 am

I wasn't aware that you can change the mount point the gvfs-fuse-daemon uses. I haven't done any work on this so far (too busy with my 'daytime' work) but I will go for the old fashioned 'mount' command, I think. What would you do? Are there any benefits of using the daemon method?
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans - John Lennon
dd058
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:03 am
Location: Reading, UK

Re: Where does Caja mount a samba share?[SOLVED]

Postby altair4 on Sun May 19, 2013 10:34 am

To be honest I always thought changing the path to the .gvfs folder this way was kludgey. The user has to add it to his autostart applications list for it to work consistently which is why I considered it an improvement that they made it non-hidden and outside the users home directory in current releases. So I don't see any advantage over the classic way of doing this.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6077
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other networking topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests