Will this printer work with LMDE? (Canon pixma MG2220)

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Will this printer work with LMDE? (Canon pixma MG2220)

Postby lime795 on Thu May 16, 2013 4:46 am

I'm getting the printer in a few days to replace my dying Hp deskjet. I heard printing was/is broken in LMDE (Tested it with the hp, it is broken, at least with my hp deskjet)

So does the Canon pixma MG2220 fall into the "Printing" bug? :?:
lime795
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:07 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Will this printer work with LMDE? (Canon pixma MG2220)

Postby recipro on Fri May 17, 2013 6:26 am

I had problems with this very issue. MG2200, but should be the same driver. Printing does seem broken by default in lmde at this time, but I somehow got this exact printer to print and scan after installing the packages from here. http://support-asia.canon-asia.com/P/se ... g_os=Linux

There is no print job tray icon, there is no Printing option in the menus (must access through terminal or command system-config-printer), and opening the printer properties shows an error. I'm not sure which of this is required, but I got rid of that error by installing a python-cups deb from an experimental repo http://packages.debian.org/experimental/python-cups After some reboots, eventually the printer was detected as MG2200-series and continues to work this far.

The scanner is another story and that one requires the canon package to work at all. It is required to add your user to the group 'scanner', otherwise only root can use the special scan application 'scangearmp'

So, if you can live without the printer job tray icon, the device seems to work completely after these steps.
User avatar
recipro
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 12:44 am

Re: Will this printer work with LMDE? (Canon pixma MG2220)

Postby Fornhamfred on Wed May 29, 2013 12:41 pm

I have installed the same printer on a friends machine and the printing is working OK however I have installed the canon scangear software but although I have added him to the scanner group scangearmp will only work as root. Any suggestions please
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests