Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

Postby whs on Fri May 17, 2013 4:45 pm

I have successfully installed Mate Olivia and at first everything was quite normal. But then out of the blue (possibly after updates), the menu button has completely disappeared from the left bottom of the screen. I am limping along with Alt+F1 but I really would like to have my menu button back.

If anybody knows an easy cure, I would appreciate input. I am not a very versed Linux user so please make the answer such that a Linux novice can understand it.

Here is an image of my desktop. http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/54 ... 72240.png/
whs
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

Postby xenopeek on Sat May 18, 2013 2:59 am

Have you tried adding it back?
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13683
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

Postby whs on Sat May 18, 2013 7:12 am

xenopeek wrote:Have you tried adding it back?

How do I do that.
whs
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:25 pm

Re: Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

Postby xenopeek on Sat May 18, 2013 7:24 am

Oh. Right-click the panel, choose add to panel, select mintMenu.
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13683
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

Postby whs on Sat May 18, 2013 11:39 am

xenopeek wrote:Oh. Right-click the panel, choose add to panel, select mintMenu.

I have tried that. But there is no 'Add to panel'. This is all there is:

http://imageshack.us/a/img855/4168/201305181737.png
whs
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:25 pm

Re: Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

Postby xenopeek on Sat May 18, 2013 12:26 pm

Right-click on an empty space on the panel instead. You clicked on another applet, and those don't allow you to add applets.
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13683
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

Postby Spearmint2 on Sat May 18, 2013 1:46 pm

you have to turn the "lock" off first.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....
User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

Postby xenopeek on Sat May 18, 2013 2:07 pm

That's not needed for MATE. Lock is just to lock an applet to a specific spot on the panel. It doesn't hinder you adding other applets. This isn't Cinnamon or KDE :wink:
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13683
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Menu button disappaered in Mate Olivia

Postby whs on Sun May 19, 2013 7:58 am

Thanks guys for all the suggestions. Unfortunately none of them worked.

I suspect that I got a bum .iso. That has happened to me before. The only ones I trust are from the Madison University but the other day their server was so busy that it would have taken more than 4 hours to download. So I downloaded from a local server instead.

I now got a copy from Madison and there is no problem after I installed that. So for now the problem is solved.
whs
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas, Google Adsense [Bot], mintoreo, wilbobob and 39 guests