Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible?

Postby jimwg on Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:02 am

Greetings:

I just want it reaffirmed by the Mint mavens here: It's not possible to have different backgrounds with different desktops yet because there's no Compiz Wallpaper plug-in which users on Ubuntu sites claim you must have to do it in XFCE and MATE, is that correct?

Thanks for any input,

Jim in NYC
jimwg
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:31 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby steve.sansumwright on Thu May 30, 2013 11:55 am

I would be interested in this one too, I just yesterday got compiz and virtual desktops working, Ive tried getting the compiz-extras deb from many sites but as yet Ive had no luck as i always run into dependancy issues.
steve.sansumwright
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby palo on Thu May 30, 2013 12:16 pm

Who says not possible? Running Xfce with E17 on top. Take a walk on the wild side.
Attachments
Pager.png
Pager
Pager.png (77.42 KiB) Viewed 1921 times
Desktop-backgrounds.png
~/mintmaya/xfce/enlightenment
Help Vampires: A Spotter's Guide
User avatar
palo
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:28 am
Location: Walking on sunshine

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby jimwg on Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:26 pm

palo wrote:Who says not possible? Running Xfce with E17 on top. Take a walk on the wild side.



That;s great then! How do you do it because other Xfce blogs can't! Help me learn linux, thanks!

Jim in NYC
jimwg
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:31 pm

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby rakeshsingh on Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:53 am

I have not used this myself, but you can try SyncWall
http://thehive.xbee.net/index.php?modul ... y&pageid=1

Interesting bunch of features....
rakeshsingh
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:09 am

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby jimwg on Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:06 am

rakeshsingh wrote:I have not used this myself, but you can try SyncWall
http://thehive.xbee.net/index.php?modul ... y&pageid=1


But what do you use yourself to get those kind of image results?

Jim in NYC
jimwg
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:31 pm

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby homerscousin on Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:25 pm

[quoteWho says not possible? Running Xfce with E17 on top. Take a walk on the wild side.][/quote]

Wild, indeed.
I wonder if I can do this in KDE?
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby homerscousin on Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:25 pm

Wow, don't know what I did. Quote did not work right, double posted, came back to edit. Hope it is more presentable.

What was the question?
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby palo on Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:50 pm

homerscousin wrote:Wow, don't know what I did. Quote did not work right, double posted, came back to edit. Hope it is more presentable.

What was the question?


That's Ok - we understand - you're using KDE :lol:
homerscousin wrote:I wonder if I can do this in KDE?


Sure - you have to set it to have different - oh wait I bet you know.

Pat
~/mintmaya/xfce/enlightenment
Help Vampires: A Spotter's Guide
User avatar
palo
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:28 am
Location: Walking on sunshine

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby Orbmiser on Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:51 pm

KDE supports different wallpaper different monitors out the gate.
Just recently had one image I took and applied to each desktop.

Image
Desktop Dual Monitors June 12th by Orbmiser, on Flickr

Then did a crop and made two halves so I could get same image to span across both.
As KDE doesn't support spanning across two monitors. Tho Cinnamon and others do if image is large enough.

Image
Desktop June 12th Spanned Dual Monitors by Orbmiser, on Flickr

But you can assign any wallpaper to each monitor.
Just right-click on specific monitor and choose Default Desktop properties.
.
User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby jimwg on Sun Jun 16, 2013 3:59 am

To All:

Please report any progress on this issue ASAP. I really want to implement this feature like yesterday!

Thank you!

Jim in NYC
jimwg
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:31 pm

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby ruud_schmitz on Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:13 am

your question is unclear to me. Do you want to assign a different desktop background for each monitor or for each workspace on a single monitor ?
it took me 25 years to learn that with every new version of windows, the OS got worse. It took me 25 days to learn that Linux is actually getting better with every new release.
ruud_schmitz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:19 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby homerscousin on Tue Jun 18, 2013 5:32 pm

I'm not sure what everyone above was thinking, but I thought having a different wallpaper for every desktop workspace (same monitor) might be nice. Switching desktops and applying a new paper applies it to all. I first tried this 2 minutes ago, so I probably haven't tried everything in KDE.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby homerscousin on Tue Jun 18, 2013 5:52 pm

Oh, heck. I opened system settings to virtual desktops and checked the box for 'different widgets for each desktop'. Well that changed my wallpaper to something I did not even have in my papers folder. I can't recall seeing this as a default KDE paper. Couple other thing chanded as well. I'm logging out to fix it.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby homerscousin on Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:17 pm

Easy fix, just untick that box. However it seems to be needed for separate wallpapers and also I had to: right click desktop--default desktop settings--change 'layout' from default to folder view. I didn't try much, but it appears you can customize what you want for each virtual workspace. You just start at a default point for each one.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby jimwg on Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:10 am

Thanks for replies all, but please slow down! I'm on XFCE not KDE and wish to assign specific wallpaper to specific workspaces (on one monitor) but I see no "virtual desktops" or folder view layouts in XFCE either, so the basic question is only KDE can perform this feature, correct?

Jim in NYC
jimwg
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:31 pm

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby palo on Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:18 am

jimwg wrote:question is only KDE can perform this feature, correct?

Don't forget the Enlightenment desktop manager :wink: :D

If you really are determined to get it working with Compiz in Xfce you may find some clues on how to do it with this old video here. My Maya install with Compiz does have the wallpaper plugin but I don't mess around with it.

Good luck
Pat

Edit - more links:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1287776
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1861037
Last edited by palo on Wed Jun 19, 2013 2:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
~/mintmaya/xfce/enlightenment
Help Vampires: A Spotter's Guide
User avatar
palo
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:28 am
Location: Walking on sunshine

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby jimwg on Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:35 pm

Greetings:

I'm no programmer or hacker or anything near that sharp, but I was wondering off the cuff whether there was a way to write a script or a "macro"(?) that executes all the key or mouse clicks it takes to select and pop up a specific wallpaper and somehow tie or link that "macro" to an action like when you want to switch to a another workspace. In other words, can a key or mouse click to move to another workspace be "monitored" in such a way that when such is activated it also triggers the macro to execute popping up a new specific wallpaper? Hope I'm saying all this right. It's just a wild hope/suggestion. Thanks for steering me straight!

Jim in NYC
jimwg
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:31 pm

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby homerscousin on Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:04 pm

by jimwg on Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:10 am
Thanks for replies all, but please slow down! I'm on XFCE not KDE and wish to assign specific wallpaper to specific workspaces (on one monitor) but I see no "virtual desktops" or folder view layouts in XFCE either, so the basic question is only KDE can perform this feature, correct?

Jim in NYC

I am a KDE lover. I don't know the other desktops as well. In my 30 minute experiment above, I did a little Google searching. I found an Ubuntu or KDE forum thread and someone said KDE is the only desktop to make this easy. I believe it. Actually they said KDE is the only desktop to do it. Workarounds and plugins can get complicated. Compiz is not maintained. No new wallpaper plugin, sorry. My motto: Get Kurrent, get Kool, get KDE.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: Different Backgrounds On Different Desktops Not Possible

Postby jimwg on Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:28 pm

Flash! A fascinating mention by ToZ!!

From ToZ:

Try this simple memory-resident script. You can load it manually from the terminal or add it to your startup applications. It cycles continuously and every second checks to see if the workspace has changed (using wmctrl) and if so, changes the wallpaper. Not ideal, but it will work.

You need to edit the script to change NUMBER_WORKSPACES to be the number of workspaces that you have and also edit the values in the WORKSPACE_WALL array to point to the wallpapers that you want to use for every workspace.

#!/bin/bash
# The Poor Man's Wallpaper/Workspace solution
# Requires: wmctrl
# Make sure you edit the NUMBER_WORKSPACES and WORKSPACE_WALL array to suit.
# Remember: Xfce starts counting workspaces at 0.

lockfile=/tmp/.wspm.lockfile
if ( set -o noclobber; echo "locked" > "$lockfile") 2> /dev/null; then
trap 'rm -f "$lockfile"; exit $?' INT TERM EXIT
echo "Locking succeeded" >&2

###### EDIT THESE VALUES
NUMBER_WORKSPACES=4
WORKSPACE_WALL[0]=/usr/share/backgrounds/space-01.jpg
WORKSPACE_WALL[1]=/usr/share/backgrounds/space-02.jpg
WORKSPACE_WALL[2]=/usr/share/backgrounds/space-03.jpg
WORKSPACE_WALL[3]=/usr/share/backgrounds/space-04.jpg

###### DO NOT EDIT BELOW
CURRENT_WORKSPACE=$(wmctrl -d | grep \* | cut -d' ' -f1)

while true
do
sleep 1
NEW_WORKSPACE=$(wmctrl -d | grep \* | cut -d' ' -f1)
if [ $CURRENT_WORKSPACE -ne $NEW_WORKSPACE ]; then
wmctrl -s $NEW_WORKSPACE
xfconf-query -c xfce4-desktop -p /backdrop/screen0/monitor0/image-path -s ${WORKSPACE_WALL[$NEW_WORKSPACE]}
CURRENT_WORKSPACE=$NEW_WORKSPACE
fi
done

rm -f "$lockfile"
else
echo "Lock failed - exit" >&2
exit 1
fi


I'm no techie but does this solution do the job?

Jim in NYC
jimwg
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:31 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests