Wireless Modem Setup/Installation

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Wireless Modem Setup/Installation

Postby Meteor on Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:11 pm

Now having two laptops in my home, I felt it's time to update from my old hardwired modem to wireless. I have a "ZyXEL Communications Corporation" wireless unit supplied by Telus (a Canadian telephone company) currently connected by a cable to this laptop. Telus and their staff assist their customers promptly if they use windows or mac. I don't having been a Linux user for the past 8 years and Mint since Helena (if I recall her name correctly). In speaking with a representative from Telus, I was instructed to do what the forums suggest. It does not appear that anyone has mentioned setting up wireless modems to Canadian phone companies (or I haven't looked in the right place...).

The modem works great as is (currently hardwired to my Acer 5250 laptop). Hardwired to my Asus something laptop, it works great too but so did my hardwired modem. I don't have enough cable to string through the house and properly to stay connected...

Could someone please point me to where I can find out how a non-technical user can connect my two laptops to this modem and become wireless? I haven't discovered anything in Nadia's menu that offers what I need or haven't looked in the right place. Obviously, Mint 13 is running on my laptops -- Mate to be specific.

Where should I be looking and (hopefully) will it be easy to set up?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Meteor
Southern Alberta, Canada, eh! :D
Meteor
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Canada, eh!

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Wireless Modem Setup/Installation

Postby trapperjohn on Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:32 pm

Does the modem have an adminstrative page that you can bring up from Firefox? If so, you should see a configuration page for the wireless. Make sure that it is broadcasting (enabled) and make note of the wireless network name and password. You may have to create this wireless access point from the administrative interface in Firefox.

Next, from a computer that has a wireless adaptor, go to the network manager and be sure wireless is enabled. If the adaptor is configured properly (proper driver is installed and configured) then you should see your router's wireless broadcast name in the list of available networks. Clicking it will prompt for the password.

Canada or elsewhere, the process is similar... it depends on the modem.

Trapper John from PEI
(as a foreign national)
trapperjohn
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: Wireless Modem Setup/Installation

Postby TBABill on Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:53 pm

If you are able to get to the URL 192.168.1.1 and are prompted for username and password, that's where you can access the wireless settings of the router and enable it, update firmware, change security settings, etc. You should be able to enable it there as well, unless of course the software your ISP uses has a config setup that requires Windows or Mac (doubtful). For many, the default user/pass is admin/password or admin/admin. If you've setup username and password, of course, use those.
TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: Wireless Modem Setup/Installation

Postby trapperjohn on Sat Jun 22, 2013 9:12 am

But, becareful with this line if it's an ISP modem
update firmware

This may override custom settings that the ISP's WAN connection requires. If the modem provides a way of saving the configuration, do it before taking this step. You do not want to spend the day on the phone with the ISP... particularly one holding a script that says "we only support Windows." Irrelevant as it is, they will say it. Linux will work with a working modem.

Your ISP is shipping a modem that they, in theory, know works with "as shipped" firmware. They would know this because they have client evidence from Windows users. Make firmware upgrades only as a last resort.
trapperjohn
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:10 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pdc_2 and 23 guests