LMDE file sys

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

LMDE file sys

Postby BobCo on Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:26 am

did i do this LMDE install right?
system monitor can't find my swap.wondering if i set lmde up correctly.
any help would be greatly appreciated
BobCo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 12:37 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE file sys

Postby xenopeek on Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:33 am

Moved to LMDE forum.

You can open a terminal and type:
Code: Select all
free

The last line will show you three numbers for swap; total swap, used swap and free swap. If total swap is not zero, you have swap configured fine.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14565
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: LMDE file sys

Postby Snapcase on Sat Jul 06, 2013 7:05 am

Though there's a lot of strong debate about the topic, Swap memory is not really needed in current OSs. Have you ever seen the Swap partition used at all by any OS? No? There you go. It can be disabled at all and won't affect performance at all unless your computer is really lacking RAM or you run it out for whatever reason, which is hardly ever the case. Also, HDs are so slow compared with RAM. If you ever need to use the Swap memory it will be damn slow and will slow down performance anyway. So better don't ever get to the point of needing it and you'll be fine whether having the Swap enabled or disabled. Needing to use the Swap partition is never a good thing.
User avatar
Snapcase
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:27 pm

Re: LMDE file sys

Postby cwsnyder on Sat Jul 06, 2013 12:14 pm

Snapcase wrote:Though there's a lot of strong debate about the topic, Swap memory is not really needed in current OSs. Have you ever seen the Swap partition used at all by any OS? No? There you go. It can be disabled at all and won't affect performance at all unless your computer is really lacking RAM or you run it out for whatever reason, which is hardly ever the case. Also, HDs are so slow compared with RAM. If you ever need to use the Swap memory it will be damn slow and will slow down performance anyway. So better don't ever get to the point of needing it and you'll be fine whether having the Swap enabled or disabled. Needing to use the Swap partition is never a good thing.
Needing swap is not a function of the OS, it is a function of the total system memory and the way the system is used. If you 'sleep' or 'hibernate', you had better have a swap set up. If you have less than 2G RAM, you had better either: 1)have swap set up, 2)Make sure that you don't use more than one application which is a memory hog and don't open more than about 4 tabs in an application, or 3) be ready for 'unexplained' system crashes.

If you 'need' swap and don't want to take the performance hit, set up your swap in RAM.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM16 Mate 64-bit
Debian Xfce 64-bit, Xubuntu 13.10 64-bit, Xubuntu Trusty Tahr 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS LXDE 64-bit
cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: LMDE file sys

Postby kurotsugi on Sat Jul 06, 2013 12:18 pm

Though there's a lot of strong debate about the topic, Swap memory is not really needed in current OSs. Have you ever seen the Swap partition used at all by any OS? No? There you go. It can be disabled at all and won't affect performance at all unless your computer is really lacking RAM or you run it out for whatever reason, which is hardly ever the case. Also, HDs are so slow compared with RAM. If you ever need to use the Swap memory it will be damn slow and will slow down performance anyway. So better don't ever get to the point of needing it and you'll be fine whether having the Swap enabled or disabled. Needing to use the Swap partition is never a good thing.

even if someone have huge ram, they'll need swap since some kernel require swap for suspend and hibernate. I agree that using too much swap will make the system slower but completely disable it isn't best solution for everyone. I guess you forgot that enable swap partition doesn't always make the system run slower. a simple sysctl tweak could make a computer with swap partition run faster than the one without swap partition. in case if you want to make your system less using swap you always can use this command
Code: Select all
sudo sysctl -w vm.swappiness=10
you can also set it to zero if you don't want to use swap at all without loosing the suspend/hibernate functionality.
kurotsugi
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:54 am

Re: LMDE file sys

Postby xenopeek on Sat Jul 06, 2013 12:35 pm

to make that swappiness permanent: http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/998
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14565
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: LMDE file sys

Postby kurotsugi on Sat Jul 06, 2013 12:48 pm

let's get back into the topic. we need more information about your system. please run these command and give us the result.
Code: Select all
sudo fdisk -l
cat /etc/fstab
kurotsugi
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:54 am

Re: LMDE file sys

Postby Snapcase on Sun Jul 07, 2013 10:19 am

If you 'need' swap and don't want to take the performance hit, set up your swap in RAM.


even if someone have huge ram, they'll need swap since some kernel require swap for suspend and hibernate. I agree that using too much swap will make the system slower but completely disable it isn't best solution for everyone.


Yes. That's what I do. I set the Swap into RAM, But I never let computers to suspend or hybernate. I've never have those functions enabled. Haven't seen the benefits of them yet. Sure they're useful for someone anyway.
User avatar
Snapcase
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest