Problems with synaptic and mint-configuration-kde

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Problems with synaptic and mint-configuration-kde

Postby giraffes_rule on Thu Jul 04, 2013 1:03 pm

I am using linx mint 12 (MATE)

When I try to use synaptic package manager I get this error message:

"Could not apply changes!
Fix broken packages first."

BUT - there are no broken packages listed in synaptic!
giraffes_rule
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:06 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problems with synaptic

Postby viking777 on Thu Jul 04, 2013 1:14 pm

Try

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get -f install


In the terminal.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Problems with synaptic

Postby phil on Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:25 pm

It seems that mint-configuration-kde has something wrong with it. I don't use KDE much. I have a similar problem but get the following:

phil@Athlon240 ~ $ sudo apt-get -f install
[sudo] password for phil:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
1 not fully installed or removed.
After this operation, 0 B of additional disk space will be used.
Setting up mint-configuration-kde (5.0.9) ...
cp: cannot create regular file `/usr/share/kde4/apps/quassel/scripts/inxi': No such file or directory
dpkg: error processing mint-configuration-kde (--configure):
subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 1
Errors were encountered while processing:
mint-configuration-kde
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
13 Xfce, Win XP, GA-MA785GM-US2h, Athlon II X2 240, 4G mem, OCZ SSD, WD 230G, nVidia 210
13 Xfce, Win XP, N68C-5, Athlon II X2 255, 4G mem, OCZ SSD, WD 120G, nVidia 7025
13 Xfce, Win XP, N68C-5, Athlon II X2 250, 4G mem, OCZ SSD, WD 1T, nVidia 7025
phil
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:46 pm
Location: Consejo, Belize, Central America

Re: Problems with synaptic

Postby viking777 on Fri Jul 05, 2013 4:37 am

I don't use KDE at all, so I don't know the answer to that problem except to remove KDE (your sig says you are an Xfce user).

However I will move this topic to the KDE part of the forum, alter the title a little and maybe a regular KDE user will have an answer for you.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests