I just installed LM15 cinnamon. I now have no sound

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

I just installed LM15 cinnamon. I now have no sound

Postby tbrownarcher2 on Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:18 pm

After installing LM 15 cinnamon from having LM 13 cinnamon I have no sound. I had sound using 13 but not in 15. The dialog box is a bit different in 15 with a few more options than before .
I cannot get it to work. Any suggestions?

I have a Lenovo thinkcentre with a built in sound card and a SoundBlaster live card add on in the machine. Any help would be appreciated

Thanks,
Nate
IBM lenovo ThinkCentre which is using linux mint 17 cinnamon

Dell dimension 3000 using linux mint 14 mate cinnamon

HP Pavilion A 720 n runnng linux mint 14 and 15 mate

Toshiba Sattalite laptop running Linux mint 15 and Windows 7
tbrownarcher2
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 12:56 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: I just installed LM15 cinnamon. I now have no sound

Postby uzername on Wed Jul 24, 2013 12:21 am

Check your sound settings and make sure the right audio device is selected.
Linux counter #317716
User avatar
uzername
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:41 pm

Re: I just installed LM15 cinnamon. I now have no sound

Postby wayne128 on Wed Jul 24, 2013 1:26 am

I read no sound in HDMI is one issue on default kernel 3.8-0-19 used by Mint15/ubuntu1304.

Whether your sound issue is related to kernel version , I do not know.

You can consider upgrade your kernel to the highest version available in the repos.
The last I remember, it was 3.8-0-26.
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: I just installed LM15 cinnamon. I now have no sound

Postby TBABill on Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:24 am

Has sound worked correctly and out of the box on any other distros? If so, which distro/version/kernel version? As stated, if it's a kernel issue you can try a newer one from the repos and test your sound. Also check to make sure sound levels aren't turned all the way down (distro settings, not volume) or muted. Sometimes in older version we had to open alsa mixer and actually move the slider up to get sound output because it was all the way down by default. I haven't had it happen recently, but never know.
TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: I just installed LM15 cinnamon. I now have no sound

Postby hooked2u on Fri Jul 26, 2013 11:12 pm

Asking more questions to us newbies is no help. tbrown... indicates in 2nd sentence that sound worked in Linux Mint 13, but now that LM 15 is installed no sound. I have the same problem only I went from Linux Mint 11 32-bit to Linux Mint 15 64-bit. I had sound in Linux Mint 11, but not now with Linux Mint 15. I wonder what has changed between these versions that my hardware is no longer working.

My PC = HP TouchSmart300 PC; originally had Windows 7 OS; sound codec is Analog Devices AD1984A. I replaced W7 about 6 months ago with Linux Mint 11 (had old copy of Linux Format). Okay, I know the question 'why try fix it if its already working', but I saw a video on youtube about Linux Mint 15 Olivia Cinnamon and was impressed. So I backed up my personal files then installed LM 15. No sound with newest version of Linux Mint. Joined the Forum looking for answers. Hope someone can help.
hooked2u
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: NE Ohio

My problem SOLVED: I just installed LM15 cinnamon; no sound

Postby hooked2u on Fri Aug 09, 2013 9:32 am

hooked2u wrote:My PC = HP TouchSmart300 PC; originally had Windows 7 OS; sound codec is Analog Devices AD1984A. I replaced W7 about 6 months ago with Linux Mint 11 (had old copy of Linux Format). Okay, I know the question 'why try fix it if its already working', but I saw a video on youtube about Linux Mint 15 Olivia Cinnamon and was impressed. So I backed up my personal files then installed LM 15. No sound with newest version of Linux Mint. Joined the Forum looking for answers. Hope someone can help.


As best I can tell the internal speakers of the all-in-one have ceased working. I have installed external speakers. I tried another LM user's suggestion: from xterm enter: setvol 0 100 <enter> then: setvol 5 100 100. The first setvol command was to set the volume range from 0 to 100 percent. The second setvol command was to set both left and right volume to 100 percent. No explanation was given why the number 5 preceded the 2 100 values.

After installation of LM 15 I had no sound from the internal speakers. I did have sound from earphones plugged in so the sound chip was working. After much frustration I purchased new external speakers to use rather than the earphones.

My problem is now solved. I will not rely on internal speakers in future hardware.
hooked2u
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: NE Ohio


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests