LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

Postby whytheam on Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:50 pm

This has happened twice now. After coming back to my computer after leaving it idle for a few hours, Mint tells me that my primary disk is almost full. The system shows that my home folder is taking up almost 200GB of space, but I don't have nearly that much data on the drive. Upon further inception, none of my subfolders in /home have more that 6GB of data in them. This points to a possible culprit being an expanding file. However, i don't know which file it could be. After I reboot my computer, the disk shows the proper data amount.

Content of home folder:
.bash_history
.bash_logout
.bashrc.dpk-dist
.conkyrc
.dmrc
.esd_auth
.face
.gksu.lock
.gtk-bookmarks
.ICEauthority
.nvidia-settings-rc
.profile
.pulse-cookie
.Xauthority
.xsession-errors
Attachments
datausage.png
This shows the disk usage of the system.
whytheam
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:31 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

Postby jdackle on Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:15 pm

I don't remember now if that graphical application allows it, but you could try "digging in" down the subfolders til you pin down the concerning file...?

Or run, in a terminal:
Code: Select all
find $HOME -size +10G
Which would look for files bigger than 10GB in your home folder. You can change your file-size settings for find with the help below:

From 'man find':
Code: Select all
       Numeric arguments can be specified as

       +n     for greater than n,

       -n     for less than n,

       n      for exactly n.
And from the same man page:
Code: Select all
       -size n[cwbkMG]
              File uses n units of space.  The following suffixes can be used:

              `b'    for 512-byte blocks (this is the default if no suffix is used)

              `c'    for bytes

              `w'    for two-byte words

              `k'    for Kilobytes (units of 1024 bytes)

              `M'    for Megabytes (units of 1048576 bytes)

              `G'    for Gigabytes (units of 1073741824 bytes)
jdackle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

Postby Monsta on Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:08 am

whytheam wrote:Mint tells me that my primary disk is almost full.

Is it only that disk utility that tells you so? How about other programs? What Nautilus/Nemo/Caja (whatever file manager you use) says? What would "df -h" in the console say?
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2017
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

Postby whytheam on Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:13 am

I receive a notification from Cinnamon, Nemo shows the disk almost being full, my conky shows the disk at 90%+, and the Disk Usage Analyzer shows the disk being full. Tonight I'm going to leave my computer idle and see if I can recreate the problem for a third time. I will report back if successful.
whytheam
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:31 pm

Re: LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

Postby Monsta on Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:15 am

Try "df -h" in the console too. :)
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2017
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

Postby TomRoche on Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:07 pm

Monsta wrote:Try "df -h" in the console too. :)


and if you then want to identify the largest files, try something like

Code: Select all
DEPTH=3
ls -alhS $(find -maxdepth ${DEPTH} -type f 2> /dev/null) 2> /dev/null | head


in bash in your console (probably 'gnome-terminal'). 'DEPTH' is of search in the filesystem: the larger you make it, the longer the operation will take, and eventually it will fail with 'ls: Argument list too long'. So try starting with 'DEPTH=1' and increasing til failure.

To see errors, remove the '2> /dev/null'.
TomRoche
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

Postby whytheam on Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:12 pm

It just happened again. It's my .xsesson-errors file that's exploding. All the errors are similar to this:
Code: Select all
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM rfbAuthPasswordChecked: password check failed
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM [IPv4] Got connection from client 204.51.97.213
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM   other clients:
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM      204.51.97.213
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM      204.51.97.213
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM      204.51.97.213
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM      204.51.97.213
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM      204.51.97.213
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM Client Protocol Version 3.4
31/07/2013 07:21:46 PM Ignoring minor version mismatch

** (vino-server:3621): WARNING **: Deferring authentication of '204.51.97.213' for 5 seconds


** (vino-server:3621): WARNING **: VNC authentication failure from '204.51.97.213'


I think someone's trying to work their way into my world...
whytheam
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:31 pm

Re: LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

Postby Monsta on Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:29 am

Wow. So the disk actually gets full after all, and it does so because someone tries to bruteforce your system and the log file grows... wait, grows to 200 Gb? :shock:
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2017
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: LMDE believes disk is full when it isn't

Postby eanfrid on Sat Aug 03, 2013 3:25 am

If your computer is not either behind a router or protected by a firewall, you are indeed offering a vnc access (shared desktop) to it from anywhere on the Internet. You should completely disable this kind of remote access to your computer if you actually never use it for your own needs (and then choose a very strong password if you do use this).
No, Linux is not a Windows clone for free - Before asking any question here...
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." (Hanlon's razor)

Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit - MATE 1.8
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: France

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests