Fix no sound gateway ML3109

Write tutorials for Linux Mint here
More tutorials on https://github.com/orgs/linuxmint/discu ... /tutorials and (archive) on https://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial
Forum rules
Don't add support questions to tutorials; start your own topic in the appropriate sub-forum instead. Before you post read forum rules
Post Reply
Husse

Post by Husse »

Welcome to Mint jessejs
Could you tell us what sound chip you have?
The info on Gateway's home page does not tell
You can open the Device Manager (Hardware Information) from the Control Panel or issue the command lspci in a terminal to find out if you don't have any specs
theopye
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:07 pm
Location: Little Rock, AR

Re: no sound

Post by theopye »

Hey! I've got an ml3109 and have found a great and easy solution for the sound, thanks to DonnieKnows.com and UbuntuForums.org

This is pulled directly from this site:
http://donnieknows.com/bin/view/Main/Ga ... 3109#Sound
If you are a more advanced user, the instructions from this site should be enough.
Although, If you're left scratching your head after viewing the site, I've added extra details, for clarification.

1.) Open and modify your /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
This will be done in the terminal by typing the following:

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
sudo grants root access to the file.
gedit is a text editor and will open the file alsa-base for editing.

2.) Now, in the text editor the file alsa-base needs edited:
Scroll all the way to the bottom of the file and add this to a new line:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=STAC9200
Mine looks slightly different:

Code: Select all

#
#ADDED 10/19/2007
#http://donnieknows.com/bin/view/Main/GatewayML3109#Sound
options snd-hda-intel model=STAC9200
The # (pound) sign allows for commenting; meaning any line starting with a #, will be ignored by the computer.
Just because I might forget, I added the date and source of info to my editing.
Finally, I added the required line.

3.) Next, we'll need to download the correct sound drivers.
Create a directory in a safe place. I Chose to make a folder named 'ALSA-FIX' in my Home folder, as I regularly backup my Home folder.
Now we need to download the script. The script will download and install our drivers for us. http://donnieknows.com/pub/Main/Gateway ... e_sound.sh
This script needs placed in our safe location, I placed mine here:

Code: Select all

/home/brant/Documents/System/ALSA_FIX/enable_sound.sh
4.) Next we'll ready the terminal to execute the script.
Open the terminal, we need to navigate to the folder in which your script is located.
This is done by changing our current directory (cd) to /home/brant/Documents/System/ALSA_FIX/ (our new folder- ALSA_FIX)

Code: Select all

cd /home/brant/Documents/System/ALSA_FIX/
We should now see our command line look something like this:

Code: Select all

brant@b-lt-l:~/Documents/System/ALSA_FIX$
This displays our username (brant) at system (b-lt-l) in the folder (home/brant/Documents/System/ALSA_FIX/)

5.) Next we'll run the script.
All we have to do now is execute the script, by typing the following:

Code: Select all

bash enable_sound.sh
This will download needed files into our new folder and execute them.
You should now be able to restart your computer and enjoy your sound!

I added a lot of detail, in an attempt to make it instructional and easy to follow. I hope this has helped!
I've included the enable_sound.sh script in an archive, attached to this post.

Later days!
Husse

Re: Fix no sound gateway ML3109

Post by Husse »

I found this useful so I moved it to the How to section
theopye
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:07 pm
Location: Little Rock, AR

Re: Fix no sound gateway ML3109

Post by theopye »

Thanks. It's my first, of many, contributions to the Linux community! :)
theopye
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:07 pm
Location: Little Rock, AR

Re: Fix no sound gateway ML3109

Post by theopye »

With Linux Mint 5 Eylissa, the Gateway ML3109's sound works from install. No tinkering necessary.
Husse

Re: Fix no sound gateway ML3109

Post by Husse »

yihaa :lol:
Post Reply

Return to “Tutorials”