Firefox in Offline Mode

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
EchoLynx

Firefox in Offline Mode

Post by EchoLynx »

I am currently using the Linux Mint Elyssa LiveCD, and every time I launch firefox (with the exception of the first time after boot) FF will launch in "Offline Mode". I know how to disable it, but is there a way to prevent it from doing it automatically?

-Ian

PS- I DO use a hack (I guess) to get my Wi-Fi card to work... without NetworkManager. Would that cause the problem?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Firefox in Offline Mode

Post by 67GTA »

What hack are you using? If the system or the network manager doesn't recognize the connection you made, then FF won't know to use it.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
EchoLynx

Re: Firefox in Offline Mode

Post by EchoLynx »

I got the solution after ages of waiting for a reply @ the ubuntu forums. I use a D-Link (HISS!) DWL-G520+ PCI wireless card. I really don't know the full extent of how it works, other than it disables Network Manager and enables the wireless card directly.

This is what I use:

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/dbus-1/event.d/25NetworkManager stop

sudo /etc/dbus-1/event.d/26NetworkManagerDispatcher stop

sudo ifconfig wlan0 down

sudo dhclient -r wlan0

sudo ifconfig wlan0 up

sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "essid"

sudo iwconfig wlan0 key MyNetworkKey

sudo iwconfig wlan0 mode Managed

sudo dhclient wlan0
The solution had information on how to keep NetworkManager/Dispatcher from starting at boot, and I plan to implement it when I do I HDD install. (I have been using LiveCD for the past week and a half.)
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Firefox in Offline Mode

Post by 67GTA »

Post the output of

Code: Select all

lspci
from a terminal.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
EchoLynx

Re: Firefox in Offline Mode

Post by EchoLynx »

67GTA wrote:Post the output of

Code: Select all

lspci
from a terminal.

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation C55 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:02.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:02.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C55 PCI Express bridge (rev a1)
00:07.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C55 PCI Express bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP51 SMBus (rev a3)
00:0a.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a3)
00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 IDE (rev a1)
00:0e.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev a1)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev a1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:14.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8500 GT (rev a1)
02:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)
03:07.0 Network controller: Texas Instruments ACX 100 22Mbps Wireless Interface
03:08.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev c0)
There you go...
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Firefox in Offline Mode

Post by 67GTA »

You are probably going to have to install it to HDD, and install the linux-restricted-modules. I think that package has the firmware you need for your wireless. Check and see if the driver is present with

Code: Select all

lsusb
Look for acx100 or acx111. That is your driver. Once you get Mint installed, and install the linux-restricted-modules for your kernel, it should be fine.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
EchoLynx

Re: Firefox in Offline Mode

Post by EchoLynx »

67GTA wrote:You are probably going to have to install it to HDD, and install the linux-restricted-modules. I think that package has the firmware you need for your wireless. Check and see if the driver is present with

Code: Select all

lsusb
Look for acx100 or acx111. That is your driver. Once you get Mint installed, and install the linux-restricted-modules for your kernel, it should be fine.
Fine as in NetworkManager will handle it all?
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Firefox in Offline Mode

Post by 67GTA »

Yes, you should have a legitimate connection.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
Locked

Return to “Software & Applications”