Mint 13 KDE and ATI Radeon Xpress

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
GallonOfAlan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:23 pm

Mint 13 KDE and ATI Radeon Xpress

Postby GallonOfAlan » Sun Sep 23, 2012 3:52 pm

Running 64-bit Mint 13 KDE on a laptop with integrated Radeon Xpress 200M graphics. I'm unclear even after reading a stack of forum posts whether this card is supported by an official ATI driver, or an open-source Radeon driver, or the default vesa driver which is what it's running now. That would be fine if I could get it to run at the laptop native resolution of 1280x800. Can anyone suggest anything ?

TIA

User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Mint 13 KDE and ATI Radeon Xpress

Postby Schoelje » Sun Sep 23, 2012 4:33 pm

This chip set is not supported by fglrx so I'm afraid you haven't got much of a choice.
You can check the possible resolutions by running

Code: Select all

xrandr
in your terminal.

GallonOfAlan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Mint 13 KDE and ATI Radeon Xpress

Postby GallonOfAlan » Mon Sep 24, 2012 2:27 pm

Thanks - is there any way I can add another resolution ? I tried using xorg.conf but couldn't seem to do it.

User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Mint 13 KDE and ATI Radeon Xpress

Postby Schoelje » Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:18 pm

Try AlbertJP's solution here:
viewtopic.php?p=476552#p476552

GallonOfAlan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Mint 13 KDE and ATI Radeon Xpress

Postby GallonOfAlan » Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:01 pm

Why would the live CD detect and use the correct native resolution, but the installed version not?

User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Mint 13 KDE and ATI Radeon Xpress

Postby Schoelje » Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:44 pm

Just a wild guess here (not on Ubuntu and no ATI card).

Try this:

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

If that doesn't work, here's some information: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Resolution
Section: Adding undetected resolutions


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: marianarlt and 2 guests