KDE 4 Question

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Valdeck
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:12 am

KDE 4 Question

Postby Valdeck » Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:57 am

so I installed the new KDE 4 from the repositories but now I have a bunch of double applications, any idea how to fix this? its not hurting the system but it is kind of annoying.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: KDE 4 Question

Postby Husse » Sat Sep 27, 2008 11:18 am

So you installed KDE4 on Elyssa KDE?
It's supposed to use KDE 3...
I fear this is unavoidable - it's likely these are different versions
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Valdeck
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:12 am

Re: KDE 4 Question

Postby Valdeck » Thu Oct 02, 2008 2:33 pm

supposed to dosnt usually mean wont :) its ok i was able to figure it out... sort of but I droped 4.1 for now. I think the linux mint build is better suited for gnome and other distros for kde but i like mint so its been on my computer the longest (other than mepis).

User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: KDE 4 Question

Postby AK Dave » Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:11 pm

You likely have a full set of KDE4 apps installed with KDE4, and since you claim you have "duplicates" then it is likely you installed KDE4 on top of the KDE3.5.9 that came with the Mint KDE CE distro. So now you have duplicate KDE apps, some KDE3 and some KDE4.

Valdeck
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:12 am

Re: KDE 4 Question

Postby Valdeck » Fri Oct 03, 2008 1:47 am

exactly :) however using kde 4.1 as desktop only shows the kde 4 apps, however i have since wiped and resinstalled :)


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest