[SOLVED] Compiz Desktop Effects

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
skambale
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 7:58 pm
Location: Germantown, MD
Contact:

[SOLVED] Compiz Desktop Effects

Postby skambale » Sun Apr 05, 2009 1:11 pm

I installed the new 6.0 KDE CE RC1.
I am trying to enable Compiz Desktop Effects from System --> Desktop Effects.

I click on "Install desktop effects" button but nothing happens.

Video card is GeForce8800GTS. Driver being used is 177 and is activated.

Desktop effects run fine when using the LM main edition.
Last edited by skambale on Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Core i7 + Gigabyte X58 MoBo GA-EX58-UD3R + 4GB XMMS 2x2 RAM, EVGA Nvidia GeForce 8800GT
80GB HDD1 - Windows, 320GB HDD2 ==> LM 11 x32 + LM 9 x64 + NTFS
Ext 400GB HDD

User avatar
niko
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 8:20 am
Location: Rome

Re: Compiz Desktop Effects

Postby niko » Sun Apr 05, 2009 2:28 pm

i had the same problem with the same video card, i resolved it installing older driver 173 istead of 177

skambale
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 7:58 pm
Location: Germantown, MD
Contact:

Re: Compiz Desktop Effects

Postby skambale » Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:55 pm

I tried that too. Doesn't help!!!
Core i7 + Gigabyte X58 MoBo GA-EX58-UD3R + 4GB XMMS 2x2 RAM, EVGA Nvidia GeForce 8800GT
80GB HDD1 - Windows, 320GB HDD2 ==> LM 11 x32 + LM 9 x64 + NTFS
Ext 400GB HDD

User avatar
Steely
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:29 pm

Re: Compiz Desktop Effects

Postby Steely » Sun Apr 05, 2009 6:41 pm

Hi

To enable compiz desktop effects you need to switch the default window manager setting. Go to System Settings and then Default Applications and its under the Windows Manager section where you can select compiz. If you run into issues with window title bars not appearing go to the CompizConfig SettingsManager and in Utilities > Workarounds disable full screen legacy support.

hth

Dale

skambale
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 7:58 pm
Location: Germantown, MD
Contact:

Re: Compiz Desktop Effects

Postby skambale » Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:12 pm

Well. that helped in a way that some effects were enabled like wobbly windows. But I after selecting Compiz as the default Windows Manager I click on "Configure" it says "Running the configuration tool failed".
Also, going back to my original Question. Still the same. So I am not sure if Compiz is running with full capabilities.
Core i7 + Gigabyte X58 MoBo GA-EX58-UD3R + 4GB XMMS 2x2 RAM, EVGA Nvidia GeForce 8800GT
80GB HDD1 - Windows, 320GB HDD2 ==> LM 11 x32 + LM 9 x64 + NTFS
Ext 400GB HDD

cspack
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: Compiz Desktop Effects

Postby cspack » Thu Apr 09, 2009 4:10 am

Make sure you have the compizconfig-settings-manager package installed.

I found the easiest way to enable compiz is to download the fusion-icon package. It puts an icon in the system tray that allows you to select your window manager and decorator. It also gives quick access to compiz settings and emerald themes. Add it to your autostarted apps and it will automatically start compiz (or whichever window manager you've selected).


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest