NetworkManager problem on Mint 6 KDE [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
lukic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:05 pm

NetworkManager problem on Mint 6 KDE [SOLVED]

Postby lukic » Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:13 pm

Image

I have disabled NetworkManager few days ago with this command:

Code: Select all

sudo chmod -x /etc/init.d/NetworkManager


because I didn't use it. But today I installed cabel internet so now I need it but I can't turn it on.
It just says ''NetworkManager is not running'' like on the picture above.
I have tried:

Code: Select all

sudo chmod +x /etc/init.d/NetworkManager
and reboot but it didn't work.

I have also tried

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start
but still nothing. :(

Could someone please help me to make it work again?
Thanks a lot.
Last edited by lukic on Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: NetworkManager problem on Mint 6 KDE

Postby Husse » Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:38 pm

chmod is maybe not the best way to do it
Try

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe NetworkManager

and see what happens
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

lukic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:05 pm

Re: NetworkManager problem on Mint 6 KDE

Postby lukic » Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:54 pm

here is what I got:

Code: Select all

milos@milos ~ $ sudo modprobe NetworkManager
[sudo] password for milos:
FATAL: Module NetworkManager not found.
milos@milos ~ $


What should I do now?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: NetworkManager problem on Mint 6 KDE

Postby Husse » Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:45 am

Ok that was a shot in the dark - I just hoped that there would be a module NetworkManager
Frankly I don't understand why it's not working - have you rebooted
That's something to do (always) in a case like this
Oh - go to init.d and check that NetworkManager is executable now - might not have changed
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

lukic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:05 pm

Re: NetworkManager problem on Mint 6 KDE

Postby lukic » Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:41 am

The problem is solved :D
It works great now!
And it was my mistake :oops:
I have changed /etc/dbus-1/system.d/NetworkManager.conf file by folowing this tutorial:

http://ca.rroll.net/2008/09/28/firefox- ... on-ubuntu/

Thankfully I made a backup before changing so when I copied it back an rebooted internet started to work out of the box 8)
Thanks a lot for your help.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: NetworkManager problem on Mint 6 KDE [SOLVED]

Postby Husse » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:07 am

Well - if nothing else this shows that there are multiple config files for some apps, which sometimes makes it hard to troubleshoot
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests