How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
WildSioux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:21 pm

How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby WildSioux » Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:07 pm

I have always found MintUpdate and Synaptic to not fit in right with the rest of KDE. GTK programs run as user (openoffice, firefox, etc...) get the QT4 theme applied. But since MintUpdate and Synaptic are run as root they are not applied and use the ugly icons, fonts, colors, etc...

I found a quick and easy fix.
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gtk-qt-engine/+bug/225076

Code: Select all

sudo mv ~/.gtkrc-2.0-kde4 /root/.gtkrc-2.0


Before (from that bug post)
Image

After using my screenshot
Mintupdate-Synaptic.png
Mintupdate-Synaptic.png (427.55 KiB) Viewed 1755 times


NOTE: I have Dolphin open move to the left above the blue Mint icon Kmenu. It is blue because it is run as a user. Both MintUpdate and Synaptic are grey (as root). That is fine with me...it is the icons, text, and colors that I was looking to change.
Image

emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2281
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby emorrp1 » Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:56 am

according to the bug report, this makes it use qt3 rather than qt4
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3970
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby proxima_centauri » Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:18 am

This is applicable to Gnome because I've done it before, but it should be good for any DE.
You can also move any themes or iconsets to /usr/share/themes/, /usr/share/icons, etc - making the system-wide.

WildSioux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:21 pm

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby WildSioux » Thu Jul 16, 2009 9:02 am

emorrp1 wrote:according to the bug report, this makes it use qt3 rather than qt4


Hmmm...I may be mistaken, but it seems like the user "laughingLoki" used "kdesudo" instead of sudo.

Either way, it still looks better.
Image

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby Boo » Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:12 pm

kdesudo is for starting gui's.
sudo will bork gui apps if used to start them in KDE.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

User avatar
richyrich
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6949
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby richyrich » Thu Jul 23, 2009 8:43 pm

Boo,
Don't change the default ! please ! Image
I use a darker theme with multiple workspaces, and I find it very easy to find an app that is logged in as either kdesudo or root. Just by cube & looking for the default theme.

regards, Richy

ps: love my mint 7 kde, thanks! for all the hard work on the mint extras & tweaks! (wish all the noobs had access to sysinfo:/ !) Image


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests