gigantic resolution Mint 8 KDE

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
pera
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 3:01 pm

gigantic resolution Mint 8 KDE

Postby pera » Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:44 am

I am very pleased with Mint 8 Gnome + thought I would try the KDE version.
After installing on old hardware (I don't know the brand of the video card) the resolution is gigantic. All letters etc fill up most of the screen and I cannot even get to where I can change the resolution. Is there a solution available via the terminal? Perhaps someone else has encountered this?
Thanks!

User avatar
beefstu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: gigantic resolution Mint 8 KDE

Postby beefstu » Thu Mar 11, 2010 6:24 pm

going to need some more info than that to try to help!

goto the terminal and type

Code: Select all

inxi -G


press enter, then copy what is written (right-click --> copy NOT ctrl-c) then paste it here.
Please go through the steps here when posting a question. Once your question has been resolved, edit the original question post and add [Solved] to the subject. Both of these will help others use the forum effectively.

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: gigantic resolution Mint 8 KDE

Postby Boo » Fri Mar 12, 2010 5:04 am

if randr can not determine your screen and its resolution it will use the lowest.
ie 800x600 or 640x480.
using a KVM can also cause this if you boot and the KVM is not set to the booting computer.
booting a system headless and then pluging in a monitor will do the same too.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests