gnome+kde

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
vicke4
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:41 am

gnome+kde

Postby vicke4 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:51 am

i am a linux mint 10 gnome user.i downloaded kde.iso to check how is kde?i tried it using unetbootin.i like that kde version.i want to install it.is there any way to add kde in my linux mint gnome?i want to switch between gnome and kde on login session.is there any way to do it with my kde.iso?please help me.

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5138
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: gnome+kde

Postby viking777 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:17 pm

Open package manager go to Settings/Repositories/Other Software Add Volume. It will ask you to insert your disk. I don't know what happens after that because I have never done it, but I assume it adds your kde install dvd as a source which is what you want.

From then the simplest way is to switch to a terminal and run

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde


This will add the mass of packages that you need to use kde but it should take most of them from the dvd that you have added as a source.

At least that is my theory, I have never actually tried it. There doesn't appear to be a meta package for kde (at least I haven't got one in my synaptic) if there was you could do it all from the package manager. You could try installing kde-base but I am not sure that will give you everything you need.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

vicke4
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:41 am

Re: gnome+kde

Postby vicke4 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:32 pm

thank you.can i do this via my usb pendrive instead of live dvd(because i do not have this).please help me.

vicke4
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:41 am

Re: gnome+kde

Postby vicke4 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:44 pm

i tried it with a ubuntu 10.10 dvd and cd.both are not working.it says

Error scanning the CD

E:Unable to stat the mount point /cdrom/ - stat (2: No such file or directory), E:Unable to stat the mount point /cdrom/ - stat (2: No such file or directory), E:Failed to mount the cdrom.

please help me.

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3969
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: gnome+kde

Postby proxima_centauri » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:45 pm

The instructions were for within your current Linux Mint installation, not via LiveCD or LiveUSB.

vicke4
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:41 am

Re: gnome+kde

Postby vicke4 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:15 pm

What do you say?i can't understand.

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3969
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: gnome+kde

Postby proxima_centauri » Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:17 pm

Just boot your normal Linux Mint and follow viking777's instructions

vicke4
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:41 am

Re: gnome+kde

Postby vicke4 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:40 pm

Which disk i should insert?please help me.

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3969
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: gnome+kde

Postby proxima_centauri » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:39 pm

Your first post makes it sound like you already have Linux Mint 10 Main Edition installed. Is this right?

vicke4
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:41 am

Re: gnome+kde

Postby vicke4 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:42 pm

Yes,now i want kde to add with it.

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6709
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: gnome+kde

Postby AlbertP » Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:29 am

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-full


Note that you will get the default KDE, and not Mintified KDE. There are some dependency problems with Mint KDE, it is not that easy to get a combined Gnome+KDE system.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

User avatar
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2053
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: albuquerque

Re: gnome+kde

Postby MALsPa » Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:44 am

@ vicke4: If I'm understanding things correctly you have Mint 10 (GNOME) installed on your hard drive? if so, from a terminal this command will install the full KDE (or, at least, that's how I did it in Mint 9):

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-full


You wouldn't need to use the KDE .iso for this. But that installs KDE from the Ubuntu repos, so it won't look quite like Mint KDE. As far as I know, you can't have both Mint's KDE and Mint's GNOME on the same installation, but someone can correct me if I'm wrong about that. Note:

AlbertP wrote:Note that you will get the default KDE, and not Mintified KDE. There are some dependency problems with Mint KDE, it is not that easy to get a combined Gnome+KDE system.


However, I've been running KDE from a Mint 9 (GNOME) installation for some time now, and it's worked out fine.

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6709
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: gnome+kde

Postby AlbertP » Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:57 am

Gnome and KDE themselves are fine, but the Mint 10 packages to make KDE look like Mint, have a dependency problem with Mint 10 Gnome: the Grub theme.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

vicke4
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:41 am

Re: gnome+kde

Postby vicke4 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:06 am

i don't want the kUbuntu kde.if i install kde via the terminal it will be like a kubuntu kde.i want the mint's official kde version.is there any chances?

User avatar
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2053
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: albuquerque

Re: gnome+kde

Postby MALsPa » Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:18 am

vicke4 wrote:i don't want the kUbuntu kde.if i install kde via the terminal it will be like a kubuntu kde.i want the mint's official kde version.is there any chances?


Hm. I don't think so, I think it's like AlbertP said.

Still, adding KDE to the main Mint as has been described turns out to be quite nice, in my opinion. You've still got the Mint tools and everything available, so it's not really like you're running Kubuntu.

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6709
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: gnome+kde

Postby AlbertP » Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:12 am

You are not running Kubuntu if you do not add the Kubuntu repository. You are running plain KDE, just as it comes from the KDE developers, when installing kde-full.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

vicke4
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:41 am

Re: gnome+kde

Postby vicke4 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:24 am

no chance with my linuxmintkde.iso?

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6709
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: gnome+kde

Postby AlbertP » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:02 am

You can install it as a seperate OS sharing an /home partition, but you cannot add an ISO to the login menu.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

vicke4
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:41 am

Re: gnome+kde

Postby vicke4 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 12:37 pm

U mean dual boot.i want to add a different gui(graphics user interface)kde in mint 10 like open suse.is there any way?


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests