KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal
Contact:

KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa » Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:03 am

Hi!

First of all I want to state here my best appreciation for the awesome distro that Main Edition and KDE CE are. I have not tried the other ones. Congratulations! :)

I've been using Linux Mint Daryna (Gnome) for some time now but I always had the curiosity to try KDE. I downloaded the KDE CE and tried it but one thing (just one! :P) doesn't work: the laptop screen brightness FN + F6 and F7. This happened also in Kubuntu 7.10 (arghhh distro).

Any suggestion of how to fix this?

PS: I really love the mint menu of Gnome and KDE!!! Keep it this way!

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5661
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby clem » Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:13 pm

Just in case it's to do with the keys themselves, you might be able to set the brightness levels from the power management applet (in both Gnome and KDE).

Clem
Image

Guest

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby Guest » Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:47 pm

Thanks. The keys are fine. Well, I'm not an experienced user with KDE but I'll try to find that power management feature. KDE is really messy in regard to some aspects..

rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa » Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:59 pm

Hi again. I have tried to solve this issue but with no success. Kpowersave doesn't seems to work..I click on it and nothing happens. I'm on the live cd..

Does anybody confirms this?

thanks

rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa » Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:21 am

No one?

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby Boo » Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:13 pm

try starting kpowersave from the command line.
kdesu kpowersave
this may give us more info to go on.
or it may just work.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:04 am

Boo, thank your for your reply.

I

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby Boo » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:21 pm

also look in the kde wiki as there is something there about kpowersaver.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:44 pm

Ok. It's done. I reduced the brightness. But now I have another problem. I've made all the updates pointed out by mintupdate and adept installer, including full upgrade. Now I get a green shadow behind "Internet", "office" and "utilities" in K menu. I also get a blue shadow behind the "settings". I only changed the icons but this had no interference, since this happens with every set of icons that I choose...

Any ideas?

Thanks

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby Boo » Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:18 am

something might have been reset or added by the updates.
the shadow is just to add some separation to the groups/apps.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa » Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:20 am

Is there any way to change this "shadows"?

Thanks


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests