MintMenu on xfce?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Guest

MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Guest » Mon Jul 21, 2008 3:10 pm

Can I install the Mintmenu on the XFCE edition? (there's a mintmenu 4.0 in the repos and I wonder if it would work properly on xfce)


thanks

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Husse » Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:41 am

Well there is a reason mintMenu is not in the XFCE edition....
mintMenu uses up a bit too much resources, even in the present very efficient version
Possible - yes but you'll probably run into missing dependencies
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Guest

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Guest » Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:14 pm

hey there

thanks for your reply :)

Guest

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Guest » Thu Jul 24, 2008 9:16 pm

Hi

I forgot to mention

I followed the instruction on this site < http://xubuntu.wordpress.com/category/tips-and-tricks/ >
and the 'slab-like' menu worked nicely in xubuntu 8.04

and it looks pretty much like the gnome edition's menu

It would be nice to see that menu option on xfce edition imho

User avatar
Rob Loach
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Rob Loach » Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:59 pm

MintMenu uses some resources that require the Gnome desktop, particularly the Gnome panel. For the mintMenu to become available on XFCE, we'd need a mintmenu-xfce package.

If there is a bounty and a developer available for this, I'm willing to contribute $50.

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby merlwiz79 » Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:11 pm

I have a package that mostly works on xfce.
It's not native to the xfce4 panel though.
It uses Xfapplet to get on the panel.
Once installed just add XfApplet to the panel and select mintMenu.
Quit doesn't always work.
It takes longer to load this menu than the default menu.
If the .desktop has OnlyShowIn=XFCE; it doesn't display in the menu.(remove it from the .desktop file in /usr/share/applications/*.desktop)
Right click Edit menu doesn't wok.
Doesn't use theme colors. (open Config Edtor /desktop/gnome/interface/gtk_theme change to current theme name)
http://www.4shared.com/file/62657790/57 ... _i386.html
Image

mul14
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:42 am

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby mul14 » Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:51 am

Hi... I found this:
Image

Follow this link http://xubuntu.wordpress.com/2007/07/12 ... nd-tricks/

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Husse » Thu Oct 09, 2008 11:42 am

mul14 that's not mintMenu but one of the menus that was the inspiration for mintMenu
But I have to agree it's nicer than the one that's there now

Merlwiz79 - what about it - include that one in the next XFCE?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

FedoraRefugee
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:25 am

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby FedoraRefugee » Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:26 pm

Husse wrote:mul14 that's not mintMenu but one of the menus that was the inspiration for mintMenu
But I have to agree it's nicer than the one that's there now

Merlwiz79 - what about it - include that one in the next XFCE?


Oh, please don't! Man, I just got here... :)

Seriously, as long as option for the real Xfce menu is available I am cool with it, but I sure couldnt live with being stuck with that thing. Likewise the Mint Menu, though I respect the time and effort that went into it. Some like it, some dont...


Return to “XFCE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests