How to change default thumbnails folder?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
szamot83
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:33 am

How to change default thumbnails folder?

Postby szamot83 » Thu Jul 30, 2009 4:18 pm

Hello.

I was wandering is this possible to change this? I cant find answers anywhere. Today I was noticed that my ~/.thumbnails is about 500 mb. So I have mounted this folder in tmpfs, it gives me better performance and I don't have to worry about size of ~/thumbnails - but this solution work only for one user. It would be great if I could change it globally for example to /mnt/thumbs, than mount this folder in RAM - and this will work for all users. Maybe it is a way to redirect one folder to another?

Sorry for my english.

Regards

BTW - I was mounted Firefox cache folder in tmpfs too - try this you will be shocked how its improve his performance. Check this:
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=30325

User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1886
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: How to change default thumbnails folder?

Postby lagagnon » Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:11 pm

I think what you are talking about is a "ram disk". The method is two lines, you probably need to set up a bash script and put it in /etc/rc.local and it will run at each boot. You can also add a line to copy all in ~/.thumbnails to that ramdisk after you've created it. Read this:

http://prefetch.net/blog/index.php/2006 ... ith-linux/

szamot83
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:33 am

Re: How to change default thumbnails folder?

Postby szamot83 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:41 am

I simply have added this line to my fstab:

Code: Select all

tmpfs /home/jola/.thumbnails tmpfs size=60M,nr_inodes=10k,mode=1777 0 0


Return to “XFCE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest