App for teaching CLI to new users

About programming and getting involved with Linux Mint development
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
plaealefridays

App for teaching CLI to new users

Post by plaealefridays »

I'm new to python and programming but have a simple idea.

It's a desktop widget that sits on your screen and live displays CLI commands for the things you're actively doing with the GUI so you can learn from doing and learn the things you need to know as you actually use them.

I don't know how to send the input information to the app, thats way above my head at this point. Even a direction to start looking would very helpful.

Or better yet, does this app allready exist?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
rene
Level 20
Level 20

Re: App for teaching CLI to new users

Post by rene »

Such a widget cannot exist.

Most people consider the/a GUI to be higher level than the/a CLI but some together with the incorrect assumption that the GUI sits above the CLI; that commands typed into a terminal are somehow "the real system" and actions performed through a graphical interface get translated and/or fed to a command interface. This is not the case; Command Line and Graphical User are two Interface types which as far as the system itself is concerned exist at the same level; neither sits above nor needs the other; neither necessarily even translates to the other. How would I translate selecting a window, opening a menu, switching to another window, ...