WINE idea

About programming and getting involved with Linux Mint development
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
bluedoor3

WINE idea

Post by bluedoor3 »

I'm a novice when it comes to this, but I have ideas. Coders and Idea-ers, can do without the RTFMs, please.

here it goes.....for what it's worth....

My main project was developed from scratch using Excel VBA Macro. I learnt VBA by Record Macro, looked at the code, and created
one big mess that works. It basically does a web query, yes you can Record Macro a web site, look at the code, and manipulate the tables onto a spreadsheet, and the epic begins, it never seems to end, the workbook becomes a whale, but the task gets done.

Then, along comes another MS update, win stupid 10, and my XP OS project eventually cannot do the web query because of a internet protocol, TLS 1.2.
I may get away seeing the web page using OPERA, but that's it. I can log into a particular website, but no financial transactions, it is blocked because I need to upgrade.

I can probably use win 7 pro, but in a few years I be back to square 1, no access, because TLS 3.0 is around the corner.
FORCED upgrade to Win 10, and MS can go.....itself. I personally don't really need all that "furniture".

So, I did look at WINE and this thing they do where one can make it happen in a virtual environment. But that is not really my game.
I just want the web page info with what I spent literally years to get it right, and it's all I know to code.

So,
Why not build a project in WINE/LINUX that is an application where one downloads, installs and bingo, it runs excel, and the web query/s, the ultimate test or goal to achieve, and be in tune with the TLS thing ?

My contribution would be the web site access and test, then feed back, and glitches fixed. I am sure there are others out there in similar situations.