[Solved] Moving python script to Windows machine

About programming and getting involved with Linux Mint development
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
buteman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire

[Solved] Moving python script to Windows machine

Post by buteman »

I have been asked if I can put a python 3 script onto a WIndows PC for a blind person. I have no idea what I will need to do or how to install any modules in Windows. Last time I used Windows myself was 1999.
Obviously I'm used to running pip3 on my system but is there something similar on Windows? Also does Windows include python. I can't give any information about their PC as the person who asked me to do the setting up has no idea as to anything technical.
Last edited by LockBot on Sun Jun 04, 2023 10:00 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
rene
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12212
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Moving python script to Windows machine

Post by rene »

Windows does not include Python but you can easily install directly from https://www.python.org/downloads/windows/. Also see https://wiki.python.org/moin/BeginnersGuide. Yes, PIP is Python's own package manager, and will be included in the main Python distribution as downloaded from the first link; you are in fact lucky to seemingly have been working with PIP rather than a Linux package manager for system-wide installs of packages, since this means things will be largely the same for you on Windows now.

The more serious problem might be the underlying Windows API versus the Linux one. That's dependent on what you are are actually doing but given that it's for a blind person I expect it might involve hardware access and/or very OS-specific functionality. Python as such will be Python but latter functionality will not, and that you would likely need to figure out from 0 again on Windows.

If it's hardware access also a VM might be an issue but I would otherwise suggest to install his/her Windows version into a VM and develop and test on that. You can install and use Windows (10/11) as downloaded from Microsoft legally for those kinds of evaluation purposes without a license; https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/softwar ... /windows10
buteman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire

Re: Moving python script to Windows machine

Post by buteman »

Thanks rene,
That's a big help.
I haven't written the code she wants yet. She just saw something I had written a while ago. Some buttons and as you hover over each one it plays a little audio describing whats on the button. I think that what she want will be a lot more work :D
Locked

Return to “Programming & Development”