where to put xmodmap to make it work...

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
anderigs
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:54 am

where to put xmodmap to make it work...

Postby anderigs » Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:03 pm

I finally got a xmodmap setup so that my US keyboard will produce öüäÖÜÄ߀ and then uncommented the section in .fluxbox/startup (

Code: Select all

xmodmap $HOME/.Xmodmap
) but it doesn't seem to work.
I tried writing replacing $HOME with the full path.
What else do I need to do?

When I call "

Code: Select all

xmodmap $HOME/.Xmodma
p" from a shell then it is working fine.
No related error messages in .xsession-errors.
i.e. I *think* something somewhere is overwriting it... But I cannot find it.

Where do I need to put the call to make it persistent?
Thanks!
andE

User avatar
richyrich
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7212
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: where to put xmodmap to make it work...

Postby richyrich » Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:10 pm

http://fluxbox-wiki.org/index.php?title=Editing_the_startup_file

Hope this helps ? Let us know . . and good luck.

richy

anderigs
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:54 am

Re: where to put xmodmap to make it work...

Postby anderigs » Fri Feb 25, 2011 7:35 pm

thanks but unfortunately this wiki entry doesn't help. Or I missed the point...

It seems that fluxbox itself is somehow overwriting my xmodmap...

After much messing around I JUST managed a hack but I think there must be a more elegant way to do this.

My hack is to put:

Code: Select all

sh -c "sleep 20; exec xmodmap $HOME/.Xmodmap" &

just before kicking off fluxbox itself with:

Code: Select all

exec /usr/bin/fluxbox

i.e. my xmodmap will be started AFTER fluxbox is started...

It worked but I am sure there must be somewhere else to put this call ... it seems startup file is too "early"


Return to “Others”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests