Post bugs in Elyssa here

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.Please do not add support questions to threads here,use the appropriate support forum instead
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by Husse »

We should find out a better bug reporting system but as a temporary measure I put up a couple of bug report topics
Note make sure it really is a bug before posting
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by Husse »

System Monitor reports Ubuntu Release 8.04 Hardy
Seems we have to go through everything and remove the word Ubuntu :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by MagnusB »

Opening torrent files with Firefox in Transmission some times need several tries. Reproduce:
1. http://btjunkie.org/torrent/Belenix-Ope ... db35153e67 (Download torrent, select open with)
2. Repeat step 1 to actually open the torrent with Transmission
And yes, I selected that torrent cause it is legal :)

Video playback with Compiz is still ugly, disabling Compiz with fusion-icon does not fix the issue, I guess you need a "clean x session", but I have been to lazy to try this.

Screenlet Sysmonitor shows Ubuntu logo (might be because I do not use the default icon set, but it didn't matter in any of the RC's), but it show Mint 5 Elyssa.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by hotweiss »

To be fair, all of the bugs that I am experiencing are not due to the Mint team's work. The bugs I am experiencing originate from the packages and Ubuntu. Here are the ones that bug me the most:

-brightness is minimized after install and it cannot be turned up (acpi4asus bug), I have fixed this
-cannot disable password lock after resume from suspend (Ubuntu bug)
-Flash 10 sometimes gives me trouble on liveleak.com (Adobe bug)
-after I reboot or shut down the shut-down screen hangs and then I have to do hard power off (Ubuntu bug)
-my headphone jack doesn't mute my speakers after I plug in my headphones (ALSA bug)
-hard drive keeps on parking every 4 seconds (Seagate firmware bug), I have fixed this
-icons in system tray get all messed up (Ubuntu bug)

Either than that, the Linux experience just keeps on getting better for me. I just installed Emerald and this theme: http://www.compiz-themes.org/content/sh ... tent=71352
I have installed WinRAR via wine to speed up my file extraction... Really, everything else is just fine.
condowax
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:50 pm

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by condowax »

I cant add users on my laptop or desktop......i could with RC1....didnt try with RC2.....but with official i cant on neither computer
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by hotweiss »

I just installed Mint on my desktop... the boot-up screen doesn't stretch to 1920x1200.
miket

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by miket »

This problem exists in Ubuntu 8.04 and Mint 5.0 :

Run either Etherape or Wireshark with "root" priv's you only ever see Broadcast traffic on the network, no other traffic is present.

Run the same on Ubuntu 7.1 or Mint 4.0 and you see all traffic on the network with full name resolution for external sites.
This maybe something to do with problems putting network interfaces into promiscuous mode.

Mike.
Helmut
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by Helmut »

We seem to have inherited another UBUNTU bug, a similar one was in Cassandra and thought to have been corrected.

Problem:
After install on this system and also on another one, both having the same sort of monitor but both having a very different sort of NVIDIA graphic card each, the resolution comes out terribly wrong on both PC's.

You then open the "Monitor Resolution Settings", and can choose only between 640x480 or 320x240, and only at 50Hz. Nothing else can be chosen. The "Monitor detect" button has zero effect. I know for fact my monitor type does not want to be autodetected. It is called Samsung SyncMaster 700(M)s Plus (CKG7507).

In Daryna the correct monitor type could be chosen from a list. Following that, the correct resolution was available for choice and all worked OK. This was 1024x768 at 85Hz. But in Elyssa I'm stuck with 640x480 at 50Hz.

On both PC's /etc/X11/xorg.conf reads:

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection


........................................................................................................................
Workaround:
Note: The three tweaks suggested in post "Get your nvidia card to have the right vertical refresh (p#38486)" did not help.

So, I struck up a terminal and typed code:
displayconfig-gtk

Now for the first time a dialogue box appeared allowing the correct sort of monitor to be selected from a list.
Following that, hitting "Control centre" / "Monitor resolution" the correct values were available to be chosen and the display now works correctly.Note however, with value "58Hz" chosen, it actually runs at 85 Hertz. (similar to another Ubuntu bug within Cassandra)

After all that, /etc/X11/xorg.conf now reads this:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Boardname "nvidia"
Busid "PCI:1:0:0"
Driver "nvidia"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
Vendorname "Samsung"
Modelname "Samsung SyncMaster 700(M)s Plus (CKG7507*)"
Horizsync 30-69
Vertrefresh 50-160
modeline "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -vsync -hsync
modeline "640x480@72" 31.5 640 664 704 832 480 489 491 520 -vsync -hsync
modeline "640x480@75" 31.5 640 656 720 840 480 481 484 500 -vsync -hsync
modeline "640x480@85" 36.0 640 696 752 832 480 481 484 509 -vsync -hsync
modeline "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@72" 50.0 800 856 976 1040 600 637 643 666 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@75" 49.5 800 816 896 1056 600 601 604 625 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@85" 56.3 800 832 896 1048 600 601 604 631 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
modeline "832x624@75" 57.284 832 864 928 1152 624 625 628 667 -vsync -hsync
modeline "1024x768@85" 94.5 1024 1072 1168 1376 768 769 772 808 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1024x768@75" 78.8 1024 1040 1136 1312 768 769 772 800 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1024x768@70" 75.0 1024 1048 1184 1328 768 771 777 806 -vsync -hsync
modeline "1024x768@60" 65.0 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -vsync -hsync
modeline "1024x768@43" 44.9 1024 1032 1208 1264 768 768 776 817 +hsync interlace +vsync
modeline "1152x864@75" 108.0 1152 1216 1344 1600 864 865 868 900 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1280x960@60" 102.1 1280 1360 1496 1712 960 961 964 994 -hsync +vsync
modeline "1280x1024@60" 108.0 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1400x1050@60" 122.61 1400 1488 1640 1880 1050 1051 1054 1087 -hsync +vsync
Gamma 1.0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Defaultdepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1400 1050
Modes "1024x768@43" "1152x864@75" "1024x768@60" "1280x960@60" "1024x768@70" "1280x1024@60" "1024x768@75" "1400x1050@60" "1024x768@85" "832x624@75" "800x600@60" "800x600@85" "800x600@75" "800x600@72" "800x600@56" "640x480@85" "640x480@75" "640x480@72" "640x480@60"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Helmut
Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by Lantesh »

I can't launch liferea in a minimized state in the system tray (command below in code box). This same command worked fine in Elyssa Beta 032, but does not work at all for me in the release version. I use it in sessions for when I boot, but just for testing purposes I've tried it from from the terminal and in Alt+F2 with the same results. The flag is always ignored. I have this problem with other programs as well.

Code: Select all

liferea -mainwindow-state=hidden
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by Husse »

Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by MagnusB »

Phosgene wrote:Not much of a bug, but I noticed a possible problem in the installer; when selecting timezones, GMT London is set as GMT +1. As far as I am aware London timezone is just GMT. This may just be my ignorance of timezones.

This is not really a problem as the time synchronizes correctly using the time server, I just thought I'd mention this.
UK use DST, so it is GMT +1 now.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 558
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by T J Tulley »

As reported in General Questions, Hibernate (selected from Quit menu) actually works but reports after Resume that it has failed. Sometimes, not always, after starting an error screen appears saying [with log numbers]:
drm_sysfs_suspend
i8042 kbd 00:0a activation failed

Hibernate proceeds after pressing a key. A final keypress is required to extinguish power light.
Another keypress initiates Resume, unless power has been off.
If so. power-on initiates Resume from hibernation followed by modified boot. When the restored Desktop appears, it includes a small dialog box over the System tray saying:
"Sleep problem
Your computer failed to hibernate.
Check help file for common problems."
and offers "Do not show me this again" to be checked.

The script for the command ~$ hibernate is not present in the initial installation, but can be installed by apt-get install.
Using a terminal, ~$ sudo hibernate then runs without error.
Even after installing the Hibernate command script, selecting Hibernate from the Quit menu still produces the above error message.

Suspend (selected from Quit menu) shuts down but fails to resume. The manual for hibernate refers to scripts (presumably) relating to Suspend but I can't find these.
Yours hopefully -

Theo Tulley.
Using a PC with 2GB RAM, 3 hdds and a 1.7 GHz Celeron cpu.
danbuter
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:56 am

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by danbuter »

Gnome taskbar
When I make it completely transparent, there are still gray backgrounds behind the date, mint update icon, windows icon, trash icon, and notes icon. This does not happen in Ubuntu, only Mint. Screenshot is here: http://home.comcast.net/~danbuter/Screenshot.png
EchoLynx
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:49 am
Contact:

Menu Bug

Post by EchoLynx »

I am running the latest version of LM from the Live CD and have discovered a problem with the menu. As you may know, if you click the subtitles (System, etc) they 'minimize' to a bar on the leftmost part of the menu as an icon. On that bar is a blank button that when pressed hides the 'minimize' bar. When playing around with it, I got stuck because I minimized all the sub-menus and then minimized the sidebar- leaving me with nothing but a small column that doesn't do anything. To launch FF I had to use Alt+F2.

Check out the video: http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid ... 4302&hl=en

I don't know if this is a bug or not, but I want to give back to the community, and this is the best way I can do it.

-Ian
Saturday August 9th, 2008: Acquired Technician-class Amateur Radio License. Assigned call KB3ROH.
February (?) 2010: Acquired General-class Amateur Radio License.
Image
User avatar
Arron
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:24 pm

Laptop Booting drive

Post by Arron »

I have had this with 2 laptops now, one HP and another Compaq.

On the Grub boot screen the default drive goes do /dev/hda1 to boot from. When it has this, the booting will hang for a long period of time on the boot screen with the green scroll bar going back and forth and eventualy go to a black screen and nothing more..

To fix this, I change the boot drive to be /dev/sda1 on the Grub menu, and it will boot. I then edited /boot/grub/menu.lst and changed it in there then run the grub-install, and it works.

Funny thing is after boot, it says / is mounted to /dev/hda1.... Odd but I could see this to be a problem for some people newer to Mint.

Arron
rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by rfpa »

Hi!

I reported a problem that I had with Acrobat Reader on Elyssa regarding the use of a huge amount of RAM. Please check http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... 47&t=14971

Here is a possible turnaround. http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=754944

Thanks. :)
User avatar
saltyp
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 4:17 am
Location: Scarborough, Queensland, Australia

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by saltyp »

Install problem.
Posting from "live CD - Elyssa" and looks a treat.
My bug is hardware specific.
ASUS L5800C laptop. Currently dual boots XP Pro and Mint 4. Great piece of kit for onsite work, if a little old.
Been trying to upgrade to Mint 5. Live CD hangs installing hardware. In compat mode the last entry is
92.232003 b43legacy-phy0: Braodcom 4301 WLAN found

and thats the end of the show. Have downloaded the ISO twice from different mirrors and have booted from one of them on my home pc to post this. Is it worth trying the Light version? has the 92.232003 installed successfully and the problem is the next/pending resource?

during 4.0 install, the WLAN was recognized after install and the relevant NON OSS drivers were prompted and installed without drama. The Mint WLAN/Network manger is much more user friendly than the inbuilt ASUS and XP WLAN Connection managers. In fact its better than the OpenSuSE equivelent (my preferred distro) Would love to get this sorted. But I have Mint 4 setup nicely and love it. So no bleeding heart, poor me, pressure on this one. Just a heads up.
if it aint broken....dont let me near it
chowanec
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:59 am

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by chowanec »

jsblackmaro wrote:Im not sure if this is a bug, but Elyssa freezes up on me constantly. I can log in, and open firefox, and it will freeze. there are no error messages attached. This seems to be happening more and more now. The only devices I have plugged in are a USB keyboard, and a USB mouse. I also have a Linksys wireless card in it. Any ideas. I cant even use it now!!! I happened 7 times last night, and 3 times already this morning!!! HELP!!
I had this problem too -- turned out that my CPU was overheating. :P RMA'd it and it's all working great now.
darktears

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Post by darktears »

skydome and cubecaps fails to load image on reboot in elyssa


i m new to linux and is currently using mint elyssa.
i m using built in compiz and it is working all fine but i m facing one strange problem.
everytime i load a image on cubecaps top or bottom and on skydome, they work fine for tht particular session but when i reboot my system
they are all gone and all i see is a plane screen on cubecaps and gradient colours at skydome.
i have to go to "advanced desktop effects>cube caps" to load them again and they again work fine for tht session.

help me plz
miket

Incorrect UUID reported by Elyssa blkid for SD devices?

Post by miket »

Hi All,

Has any one else noticed that Elyssa reports incorrect UUID for SD cards ?

I have an 8GB SD card formatted EXT2 with Mint 5 installed on it.
Booting from Elyssa installed on the PCs internal hard drive reports the following:

blkid :

Code: Select all

/dev/sdb1: UUID="3734-6632" TYPE="vfat" 
Booting Daryna installed on the PCs internal hard drive reports the following:

blkid:

Code: Select all

/dev/sdb1: UUID="4cda6c1a-821d-4cd2-8ec5-628cbc697b42" TYPE="ext2"
I've checked this using Debian Stable and it reports the same as Mint 4 Daryna.

Can anyone else comment on this problem please ?

Mike.
Locked

Return to “Releases & Announcements”