Cassandra BETA014 is out!

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.Please do not add support questions to threads here,use the appropriate support forum instead
User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4125
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Cassandra BETA014 is out!

Post by clem » Sat May 19, 2007 2:07 pm

Hi,

Cassandra BETA 014 was released and is now available for download.

Download page: http://www.linuxmint.com/download.html
Release notes: http://www.linuxmint.com/20070518.html

Clem.
Image

blogger
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 6:00 am
Location: Freeland

Post by blogger » Sat May 19, 2007 3:21 pm

Congratulations, Clem
Just installed. It's a charm,everything going fine so far. :)

exploder
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5532
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA
Contact:

Post by exploder » Sat May 19, 2007 7:58 pm

I am glad I got the new release before it was announced on distrowatch! The servers are going to be very bust now!

kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 720
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Post by kanishka » Sun May 20, 2007 3:39 am

exploder wrote:I am glad I got the new release before it was announced on distrowatch! The servers are going to be very bust now!
Yes, me too, thanks to a bug report by Husse :wink:

shrike
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:00 am
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

torrent?

Post by shrike » Sun May 20, 2007 6:15 am

Is there a torrent? and if not could someone, who knows more about how to do that kind of thing than i do start one?

scottje1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:20 am

Post by scottje1 » Sun May 20, 2007 8:28 am

Check http://www.linuxtracker.org - when I checked, it still only had Beta 012, but normally the new releases go up there pretty quickly.

scottje1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:20 am

Post by scottje1 » Sun May 20, 2007 8:31 am

just checked the download page, a torrent IS up:
http://www.lintelligence.de/getdownload ... 664769/559

User avatar
Kinne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 11:34 am

Post by Kinne » Sun May 20, 2007 11:45 am

In case you need another mirror:

USA: http://scratchy.cirtexhosting.com/~snak ... TA-014.iso
Last edited by Kinne on Sat May 26, 2007 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Torrent Download

Post by merlwiz79 » Sun May 20, 2007 6:04 pm

I posted one at linuxtracker.org it may take awhile at 1st.
At least it saves on the bandwidth bill for them.
http://linuxtracker.org/torrents-detail ... 4142&hit=1
screenshots here.
http://shots.osdir.com/slideshows/slide ... 13&slide=3
Last edited by merlwiz79 on Tue May 22, 2007 3:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4125
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by clem » Mon May 21, 2007 4:59 am

Kinne: Can you confirm the MD5 are OK ?

Clem
Image

User avatar
Kinne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 11:34 am

Post by Kinne » Mon May 21, 2007 10:30 am

Well I checked once I downloaded it. Whey were ok.

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4125
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by clem » Mon May 21, 2007 11:46 am

I added these two mirrors to the download section. Thanks for mirroring Linux Mint.

Clem
Image

User avatar
alonhzn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:11 pm

does it suffer from the same "can't access tty"?

Post by alonhzn » Wed May 23, 2007 6:14 pm

does it suffer from the same "can't access tty"?
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=415009

i wanted to try the new ubuntu 7.04 but the live CD wouldn't load....
as you can see in the link above, it's a very common problem , yet no one is sure what's causing it...
do you know people who encountered this problem on mint 3.0?

p.s.
in the meanwhile, i'm downloading the beta... i'll tell you if get the same error....

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4125
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by clem » Wed May 23, 2007 7:09 pm

Yes that problem should be there as well.

Clem
Image

User avatar
Kinne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 11:34 am

Post by Kinne » Thu May 24, 2007 4:05 am

Hi,

I had to put down http://www.terakin.de/LinuxMint-3.0-BETA-014.iso
The included traffic (500GB) was reached...

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4125
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by clem » Thu May 24, 2007 7:08 am

No problem. Download page updated.

Clem
Image

User avatar
richard.a
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 6:34 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by richard.a » Thu May 24, 2007 7:10 am

G'day from Downunder :)

I can confirm the checksum is right.

A very nice looking and feeling operating system; congratulations all round. Reminds me of what Sun's Java Desktop System (JDS) should have become had they not embargoed the product at the end of its beta phase about a year or so ago. Version 3 was only released for Solaris, not Linux.

That also used Evolution for its email client, and I notice from the Release Notes you've decided to switch to Thunderbird, which imho is a pity, but never mind.

I'm looking forward to the stable release, although I've run it unmercifully for the best part of a day and it's not broken yet, so it appears pretty stable to me :)

A couple of points though. I can't find a way to SU because it says the password I put in isn't right. Maybe I missed something here? I was only asked for a password for the main user.

Is it possible to remove the block on logging in as root? I'm familiar with how to do it in KDE, but not in Gnome. JDS had a checkmark in one of its config windows to disable root login but I never bothered because it was useful to be able to use it - particularly as a second login to fix something in the config area.

Something I liked there was the ability to have a second login visible as a smaller than fullsize desktop in a window. That was a great facility.

And I'm also unable to find an access to a root version of the file manager so I can edit config files. How do you suggest this is done? I have custom hosts files on all my LAN computers because I run a bunch of vhosts on one of them, and that's the easiest way to access a vhost you are serving.

Any suggestions, please? I have had to do my config editing by using a PuppyLinux live CD - because even your install CD (which is live) doesn't permit access to any filesystem files.

Again, a nice feeling product. Thank you guys. Looking forward to seeing the release :)

Richard in Adelaide
Capital of South Australia.
Have you noticed editing is always needed for the inevitable typos that weren't there when you hit the "post" button?

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4125
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by clem » Thu May 24, 2007 7:14 am

You default user has admin rights. Whatever root can do he can do as well, just by typing "sudo " in front of the command.

If you want to give a password to root so you can become or log in as root, you can from your default user:

"sudo passwd root".

Or even without giving him a login:

"sudo sudo -"

Clem
Image

User avatar
richard.a
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 6:34 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by richard.a » Thu May 24, 2007 7:20 am

Thankyou Clem. Now I have set the password, it's okay.

It would not allow me to do the other things you suggested.

Richard

User avatar
richard.a
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 6:34 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by richard.a » Thu May 24, 2007 8:22 am

A problem now, I suppose from changing from Gaim to Pidgin. I could not see this message there before without a root password.

Start > Administration > Login Window brings up an error message...
the folder contents could not be displayed
error accessing file:///usr/share/sounds/gaim: file not found
This only shows once, subsequent accessing of login window configuration does not bring it up.

I notice the "Circles" login screen looks different from the old one, so I suppose Gnome has changed it.

Question, Is there an equivalent to the RealVNC Viewer in the distro? So that Mint can view the desktop of another machine? Or do I have to run RealVNC under WINE?

Thanks in advance :)
Have you noticed editing is always needed for the inevitable typos that weren't there when you hit the "post" button?

Locked

Return to “Releases & Announcements”