Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.Please do not add support questions to threads here,use the appropriate support forum instead
User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by clem »

This thread is dedicated to bug reports on Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1. Please report bugs here and include necessary steps to reproduce the problems you describe.

Clem.
Image
Mad_Mac
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:55 am
Location: Finland

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Mad_Mac »

I don't know if this is Linux mint bug, but in RC I can't select my other monitor in ATi CCC, but in Mint 6 I did have two monitors. And Mint's own screen configuration doesn't even start after I have installed ati drivers :|
User avatar
monkeyboy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by monkeyboy »

Its good news and bad news. The bad thing is that SLI still won't work out of the box. The good thing is that the old fix ( http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... li#p112633 ) posted by Abadaba still works.
User avatar
willxtreme
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:38 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by willxtreme »

Wine Doors is bizarre:

I get an error I didn't have before

Package update completed
The following errors were reported:
Reported 1 time:Could not find packlist /tmp/System Base.xml

The file is there though when I check my tmp folder

Besides that, great job on LM7 GLORIA RC1 x64 it's very solid :D
Mad_Mac
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:55 am
Location: Finland

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Mad_Mac »

After I installed Ati drivers manually, I did get Mint's own screen configuration work, but it doesn't recognise my monitors :?

Picture

"Ei tiedossa" = "Unknown"

Edit: Here is my xorg.conf:

Code: Select all

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Default Screen"
	Device     "Configured Video Device"
	Monitor    "Configured Monitor"
	SubSection "Display"
		Virtual   3600 1200
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	BusID       "PCI:6:0:0"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
	Option	"DontZap"	"False"
EndSection
junOlive
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:07 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by junOlive »

Hi,

I'm running Linux Mint 7 x64 RC on Acer Aspire 7730G with Intel Core 2 Duo P7350 and NVIDIA 9600M GT. I don't know how to reproduce it, but exceptionally often while working the system gets stuck and caps lock starts blinking. Kernel freeze?

If there are any log files which could shed light on that problem, please tell me. The problem appears in about one or two of 5 sessions only, but it annoyingly appears at all.

Thanks for your help!

BTW: Linux Mint rulez! :-)
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Husse »

@ VitViper
Compiz should not have worked in the first place - the 965 is blacklisted in Compiz
I have just answered a question about this but can't find the topic :)

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /usr/bin/compiz
Find this section
# blacklist based on the pci ids
# See http://wiki.compiz-fusion.org/Hardware/Blacklist for details
#T=" 1002:5954 1002:5854 1002:5955" # ati rs480
#T="$T 1002:4153" # ATI Rv350
#T="$T 8086:2982 8086:2992 8086:29a2 8086:2a02 8086:2a12" # intel 965
T="$T 8086:2a02 " # Intel GM965
T="$T 8086:3577 8086:2562 " # Intel 830MG, 845G (LP: #259385)
BLACKLIST_PCIIDS="$T"
Comment out the two 965 lines it should have a # in the beginning so it looks like the lines directly above
If this screws it all up just remove the two #
This is no bug in Mint - almost anything with Intel 965 is a bug with Intel not Linux
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
BigBaaadBob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:37 pm

flegita core dumps

Post by BigBaaadBob »

Probably upstream bug.

mint@mint ~ $ flegita > /tmp/foo 2>&1
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Contents of /tmp/foo:

Code: Select all

(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: gnomescan 0.4.1
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: sane_init(0x7fff7a920144, NULL)
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: SANE Version = 1.0.19
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: sane_get_devices (0x7fff7a920128, FALSE)
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating unknown Scanner Noname Generic Digital camera (v4l:/dev/video0)
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 15
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option mode(2) 'Scan mode'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gchararray
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= "Gray"
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { enumeration }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  enum	= { Gray Color }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option channel(3) 'Channel'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gchararray
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= ""
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { inactive enumeration }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  enum	= { spca561 }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option tl-x(5) 'Top-left x'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { inactive range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range	= [0.000000 ; 304.000000] step = 1.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option tl-y(6) 'Top-left y'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { inactive range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range	= [0.000000 ; 256.000000] step = 1.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option br-x(7) 'Bottom-right x'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { inactive range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range	= [48.000000 ; 352.000000] step = 1.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option br-y(8) 'Bottom-right y'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { inactive range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range	= [32.000000 ; 288.000000] step = 1.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option brightness(10) 'Brightness'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 12
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range	= [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option hue(11) 'Hue'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range	= [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option color(12) 'Picture color'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range	= [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option contrast(13) 'Contrast'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 88
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range	= [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option white-level(14) 'White level'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type	= gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value	= 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags	= { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range	= [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit	= pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Emulating option 'source'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Emulating option 'depth'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Scanner Generic Digital camera selected
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Area set to 0.000000×0.000000+0.000000+0.000000 (mm)

(flegita:9143): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_get_height: assertion `GDK_IS_PIXBUF (pixbuf)' failed

(flegita:9143): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_get_width: assertion `GDK_IS_PIXBUF (pixbuf)' failed
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: 0 px @ 50.000000 dpi = 0.000000mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: 0 px @ 50.000000 dpi = 0.000000mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: 693 px @ 50.000000 dpi = 352.043991mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: 567 px @ 50.000000 dpi = 288.035993mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Area set to 352.043991×288.035993+0.000000+0.000000 (mm)

(flegita:9143): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_list_store_get_value: assertion `VALID_ITER (iter, list_store)' failed

(flegita:9143): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: /build/buildd/glib2.0-2.20.1/gobject/gtype.c:3940: type id `0' is invalid

(flegita:9143): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: can't peek value table for type `<invalid>' which is not currently referenced
User avatar
Rob Brill
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Global

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Rob Brill »

Hi,

BRAZILIAN PORTUGUESE

The system is really very fast. Great job by Linux Team.

note:

mintUpdate doesn't work for this RC1 x64 Mint 7 Gloria edition as the same for 32 bit Stable edition.

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=27155

(Here there were no updates to apply. Previous updates were done through Synaptic (APT) .
mintupdate launched from Terminal - mintupdate Gui pops up normally.

Terminal message:

rodolfo-desktop rodolfo # mintupdate
rodolfo-desktop rodolfo # /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/mintUpdate.py:1256: GtkWarning: gtk_toolbar_set_icon_size: assertion `icon_size != GTK_ICON_SIZE_INVALID' failed
wTree = gtk.glade.XML(gladefile, "window1")
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/mintUpdate.py:1268: GtkWarning: gtk_socket_get_id: assertion `GTK_WIDGET_ANCHORED (socket)' failed
window_id = repr(socket.get_id())
PING google.com (74.125.67.100) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- google.com ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 168.946/168.946/168.946/0.000 ms

we have received a big prize (gift).

Thank you very much!

Will there be a R1 ISO for Gloria 7 32 bit edition or a patch to fix this issue?
(revision 1) - A patch woudl be appreciated.

Best Wishes
Roberto( pt-BR)

----------------------------------------------------

EDITADO:
A new version of mintUpdate ( 3.7.7) was sent and received via Synaptic.
Now mintUpdate is working properly for pt_BR - both editions - 32bit Stable and x64 RC1
mintsystem - version 7.4.8

Thanks a lot
Roberto :wink:
Last edited by Rob Brill on Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:08 am, edited 2 times in total.
Beinrich
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 6:20 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Beinrich »

There is a bug that is also in Mint 6 (64).

Im using the Creative Xmod as an USB soundcard.
When I select is in the soundsettings for output of music and video, it plays all sounds from music over the USB card, all movie programs (Totem, MPlayer and VLC) still use the onboard soundcard.

Why Id say its a bug and not just some unsupported hardware is that it works perfectly under Ubuntu (8.10 as well as 9.04).

Here is the thread with some more details and what we have tried so far:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=26517

I was able to redirect the sound from Totem Player to the USB soundcard by redirecting the stream under PulseAudio Volume Control.
Maybe that helps.
Camzl1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:35 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Camzl1 »

Home Built Brew here everything working OK, Except I cannot get the Open in Terminal feature to work when I have opened a folder as Root with the right clik (love this feature more distros need to follow suit)

AMD Athlon X2 5800 2GB Ram MSI K9A Platinum ATI 1650 Pro using drivers that were installed by default
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Husse »

Except I cannot get the Open in Terminal feature to work when I have opened a folder as Root with the right clik
You can't do that in the 32 bit either
I don't think it is a proper bug, I rather think it is impossible....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Camzl1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:35 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Camzl1 »

Actually the Open in terminal worked fine on my Dell Inspiron 8200 in Linux Mint 6. But more details are that it actually shows up in the bottom panel as an opened window but then closes after about 5 seconds. For everyday users it won't even be noticed as a problem. Also I have the Headphones plugged in, speakers still playing, problem no matter whether I use Ubuntu 9.04 x64 or Linux Mint 7 x64 and I have tried adding the options into the alsa-base.conf file as other users from other forums have suggested with no avail. Realtek HD ALC883 on an ATI chipset board.
User avatar
subslug
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 9:05 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by subslug »

I've noticed a long delay in having a menu entry show up in your programs menu after you install something.

An example, I installed Handbrake but it wasn't until several minutes later before I got the menu entry under Sound & Video.
I've noticed this on the x86 version of Mint 7 but it seems even longer on the 64 bit version.

Another weird thing about the Mint menu is the scroll bar that you scroll to see your whole list of apps, sometimes it just jumps wildly up and down while trying to scroll it. Sometimes you don't even need to click on the scroller, just running your mouse up and down causes it to scroll.

Lastly, this has been happening for sometime now but I've always wondered why Firefox hangs when I try to close it? It was bad on Mint 6 and is only a little better on Mint 7 and it really doesn't matter at all what page I'm browsing when I close FF. I thought it might be a Flash thing but it does it even when there's no flash on the page.
dizmoduck
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:40 am
Location: København M(almö) AKA Malmö Sweden

evolution exchange 2007 connector

Post by dizmoduck »

I just install evolution and exchange 2007 connector.

I can start evolution but when i try to set up a account for exchange server 2007 Evolution crasse when i try to Authenticate Domain name

i fount this i the log file

BB8531 kernel: [21440.836614] evolution[14649]: segfault at 7f23500328d0 ip 00007f23500328d0 sp 00007fff847999f8 error 15
Jun 15 15:17:24 BB8531 kernel: [21555.600320] evolution[14780]: segfault at 26f0470 ip 00000000026f0470 sp 00007fff96789608 error 15
Jun 15 15:25:48 BB8531 kernel: [22060.300730] evolution[15134]: segfault at 7f2c00000000 ip 00007f2c00000000 sp 00007fffc2c24d78 error 14
Jun 15 15:29:12 BB8531 kernel: [22263.703466] evolution[15172]: segfault at 338a360 ip 000000000338a360 sp 00007fff80c2b388 error 15
Jun 15 15:55:13 BB8531 kernel: [23825.054431] evolution[15691]: segfault at 1546880 ip 0000000001546880 sp 00007fff28dd8f78 error 15
---
Venlig Hilsen / Kind Regards
/dizmoduck

- live your dreams, don't dream your life
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2158
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: evolution exchange 2007 connector

Post by emorrp1 »

dizmoduck wrote:I just install evolution and exchange 2007 connector.
I was under the impression that the latest evolution, available in Gloria has native support for exchange (or maybe just the .pst files), if I'm right, then removing the connector might solve the problem.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
User avatar
subslug
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 9:05 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by subslug »

Just tried blanking two DVD RWs discs and both time the process stops quickly, saying it was successful and both time I'm unable to get the disc out of the computer.

I can't even force an eject because now both times my drive just vanishes from the system.

I'm not sure but I think something is borked, having to reboot to get a DVD out of the drive is no fun. I still haven't gotten Brasero to burn anything on the RC1.

On occasion Gnome Menu will hang and use 100% system resources, other times upon logging in I'll get no Gnome panel, I have to log back out and in for the panel to load.
condowax
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:50 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by condowax »

I can't get gnome-do to auto start every time Iogin. I checked the box to autostart but every time I restart the box is unchecked and I have to run gnome-do manually.
salimusta
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:43 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by salimusta »

There is a problem with right click. When you press the right mouse button right click menu seems. But when you release the button it selects first option from menu. This problem is not occuring always but it occurs usually. And this is a system wide problem. I thought that maybe my mouse have a problem. I have tested it on the same computer with another op.system. Problem is only with the mint. Problem starts with installation of mint.
kmrdeva
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:48 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Post by kmrdeva »

Funny, I didn't encounter this issue when I was using Ubuntu Jaunty x64. I've installed htop from the repos and it was downloaded and set up successfully. With Mint Gloria x64rc1, however, I just found out that I can launch the app from a terminal window but clicking on the htop icon in the mint/administration seems to effect no response from the OS.
Regards,
Kumar
- Mint7 x64 on a PC with Intel Q8400 CPU, Intel DG45ID M/Board, 8GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia 9500GT, 320GB & 1TB SATA HDDs -
Post Reply

Return to “Releases & Announcements”