Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.Please do not add support questions to threads here,use the appropriate support forum instead
M_aD
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:03 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by M_aD »

atanil wrote: - pendrive is too slow when coping file to it. Copy starts with a good speed (10 Mb/s) but slowdown to 800 kb/s.
A movie with 700 Mb spends 10 min to be copied when normal should be ~1 min.
I think this not a Mint KDE bug. Quick search on Google let me know this is possibly a kernel bug but I think it's important enough to be reported here.
Normally when i copy something onto a external HDD, usb stick/pendrive or memorycard, i have a speed of 20MB or sometimes higher under Ubuntu or Linux Mint 7 Gnome. It's freakin' fast. :)

In Kubuntu 9.04 and LM 7 KDE CE however it's indeed very slow from time to time. Also had that experience under openSUSE and other KDE 4 distro's. Could be KDE related me thinks. :?
condowax
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:50 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by condowax »

When I install new widgets from the internet (Add Widgets -> Install new widgets -> Download new plasma widgets) I get and error message when I close the windows to install widgets saying that it couldn't be installed, but I checked my list of widgets and there were the widgets that I had installed eventhough the error message said it couldn't be installed.
locutus
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:54 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by locutus »

But it sounds like the widgets are working? It's just the error message that is wrong?
Resistance [to Linux] is futile.
Image
mararual
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:02 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by mararual »

KDE 4 default fonts are awful, at least for me :P

I found out that enabling anti-aliasing, setting UseSubPixelRendering to RGB and Hinting Style to Slight improves a lot its look. This may be a nice default setting. What do you think?
condowax
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:50 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by condowax »

locutus wrote:But it sounds like the widgets are working? It's just the error message that is wrong?
The widgets seem to be working fine it's just the error message the problem.
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by markcynt »

When I tried to install a Deb package I kept getting errors.

I found out that KPackageKit was the default for opening those types of files.

I changed the default to GDebi Package Installer and everything is fine now.

It's not really a bug but GDebi Package Installer should be the default for deb files.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by markcynt »

mararual wrote:I found out that enabling anti-aliasing, setting UseSubPixelRendering to RGB and Hinting Style to Slight improves a lot its look. This may be a nice default setting. What do you think?
That's standard procedure for me with any KDE distro.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5563
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by exploder »

I changed the default to GDebi Package Installer and everything is fine now.
Where did you change this?
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by markcynt »

exploder wrote:
I changed the default to GDebi Package Installer and everything is fine now.
Where did you change this?
System Settings>Advanced>File Associations, type deb in the search box, click the plus sign, choose deb, move GDebi Package Installer up to the top.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5563
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by exploder »

Thanks markcynt! I am still getting used to KDE.


Edit: Boo mentioned this too. I thought I should pass it on.
this is the same for ktorrent /kget
but look for x-bittorrent
i hope it translates to firefox...
So this should be the same as the instruction markcynt provided above, just move up KTorrent.
Last edited by exploder on Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:41 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
GerMulvey
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 4:48 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by GerMulvey »

Not too sure there is a bug in this, so far I haven't replicated the issue.
But on two separate installs the launcher has just failed to open the menu. (same machine)
The only thing on both occasions similar were multiple open folders (probably not the same one's)
To resolve it I right clicked the launcher icon and changed the launcher to the alternative option and then back and all worked fine.

So far I have had no real issues. Running the 185.18.14 nvidia driver seems fine.

Looking good so far. Nice work.

..::EDIT::..
I have managed to replicate - it seems to happen if the default iconset is changed. Still don't think it's a bug though.
If it ain't broke - fix it anyway!
User avatar
Rob Brill
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Global

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Rob Brill »

Hi,

Linux Mint KDE CE 7 RC1 "Gloria"

One more round for me.
I did a clean install of KDE CE 7 Gloria again.

1 - mintUpdate does not works for Brazilians users after installing the system on hard drive.

- Solution for mintUpdate to work after the installation is ready.
Open the Terminal - Konsole and type this command:

sudo apt remove mintupdate
password required

This command will remove mintupdate and mint-meta-kde

type

apt install mintupdate mint-meta-kde

Better restart the system

The commands above will set mintupdate free so, The Brazilian Users can update the system via mintUpdate.

2- Kmix does not open when launched from the start menu (system) but the sound works
If i try to remove it from the system i also have to remove mint-meta-kde

Gnome Alsa Mixer is a good alternative for me. (It's sad when a KDE app does not work and i have to run one from Gnome).

3- Installed KsCD and it works good to play audio CDs.
Installed Kaffeine too.
Where is Kaudio - I prefer KDE apps installed.

4- What the use of MPlayer (Gnome MPlayer) version 2.1.10rc2?
I try to remove it but i couldn't. Gotta also remove mint-meta-kde

5- I didn't find nothing wrong with Dragon Player - good
It plays DVDs properly
The same for VLC and Kaffeine

Regards,
Roberto
warriorpoet
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by warriorpoet »

bugs:

1. hardware driver update by button/ notification is still broken. This is not broken in Gloria Main x86_64 + KDE 4.3 RC1

2. logout goes to black screen. Pressing power button restarts, but machine never successfully logs out.

3. not a bug per se, but I don't see any viable way to upgrade to KDE 4.3 RC2 without compiling. I tried a few alternatives, but they messed up the desktop pretty badly.

4. missing wireless network icons (there's a "?" next to each)

5. missing Aya icons (probably not your issue...)

raves:

1. GREAT job on the sound implementation. This is excellent.

2. the artwork is fabulous

suggestions:

1. I think Opera 10 beta is something to consider adding to the download as a Firefox alternative. To my mind it's ahead at this point.

2. keep the faith! This is my very favorite distro, and I'd love to see it get better :)
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5563
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by exploder »

2- Kmix does not open when launched from the start menu (system) but the sound works
If i try to remove it from the system i also have to remove mint-meta-kde
I think the shortcut just puts the mixer back in the panel if you used "quit".
zole052
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:32 pm
Location: Umag, Croatia

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by zole052 »

A bug i think...
When pressing print screen key it doesn't launch ksnapshot.
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2158
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by emorrp1 »

reported from WildSioux: gtk progs run as root are not themed properly

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=109&t=29308
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by markcynt »

zole052 wrote:A bug i think...
When pressing print screen key it doesn't launch ksnapshot.
Confirmed
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Favio
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Favio »

A quick question, the installation of a wireless usb in mint kde it's as easy as in mint gnome?. Recently i've installed kubuntu 9.04 and I couldn't install the drivers of my 'linux unfriendly' zonet zew 2505 wirless usb.

In mint 7 gnome I just needed to copy a .inf file.
User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9057
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by richyrich »

Favio,
Mint 7 KDE uses the gnome-network-manager.
Favio
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Post by Favio »

richyrich wrote:Favio,
Mint 7 KDE uses the gnome-network-manager.
Yes I know that. But my question is, Mint kde has Windows Wirless drivers?

Image



P.S. sorry for my super crappy English.
Post Reply

Return to “Releases & Announcements”