Linux Mint 3.1 Celena is out!

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.Please do not add support questions to threads here,use the appropriate support forum instead
nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Postby nelamvr6 » Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:14 pm

Running on Celena now, it's GREAT!

Thanks Clem!

User avatar
Alpha-Geek
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:29 am
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Contact:

Postby Alpha-Geek » Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:32 pm

Sweeeet. Many thanks!

laofzu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 6:01 pm

Bug?/Solution

Postby laofzu » Tue Sep 25, 2007 11:14 pm

I love the new Linux Mint 3.1. Had a small problem with it though. Booted from live CD, installed fine. On reboot, stalled on progress bar. Found solution was to use old win98 boot floppy, run fdisk /mbr and then install. Must be problem in overwriting the grub bootloader from Cassandra. I will leave it to the experts to figure out, just wanted to bring it to someone's attention. I really love the new artwork, it looks very professional and polished.

Shyster
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:12 am

Postby Shyster » Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:19 am

Another great release. Clem!

I particularly appreciate you making a greater native resolution available.

I suspect the limitations of my resolution are more related to my videocard.

Once again, a great release!

Shyster
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:12 am

Postby Shyster » Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:36 am

GREAT RELEASE overall!!



(Lest I left a contrary impression).u

After your most recent release of mint 3.1

There really isn't a comparable distro other than PClinxOS.

Keep it up...soon you'll be No. 1

(Just add in support for higher screen resolutions).

Shyster
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:12 am

Postby Shyster » Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:38 am

Clem,

We appreciate your efforts!

Shyster
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:12 am

Postby Shyster » Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:43 am

Off, looking for Clem...

kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 720
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Postby kanishka » Wed Sep 26, 2007 3:36 am

Celena's quality is exactly as I expect from Mint's team work: excellent!
A minor quirk, though, are the Cassandra Green and Cassandra Blue themes which, in fact, are both blue... :wink:

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5662
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:52 am

Kanishka: It's not a bug. They both use the same window decorations and all but with a different default background, one is green, the other is blue. It's meant to be that way. It's confusing because Gnome doesn't directly apply the new background when selecting a them until you press the related button.

Clem
Image

User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1237
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby GrayWizardLinux » Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:44 am

p.s. Thanks for not adding the 120 plus games to Celena! This is one beautiful distro/OS!

how do you connect to the download portal? just curious...

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5662
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:57 am

You open firefox and go to http://www.linuxmint.com/software then you select the application you want and click "download", and "open with mintinstall". You can also download the mint file and double click it in Gnome to run it with mintInstall.

Clem
Image

User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1237
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby GrayWizardLinux » Wed Sep 26, 2007 11:12 am

Ok thank you so much! I really love this distro and version. Just need to get this wireless working and I am set for now.

Excellent work Clem!!!

kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 720
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Postby kanishka » Wed Sep 26, 2007 11:38 am

@ Clem:

Thanks for the clarification! 8)

jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Postby jbaerbock » Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:39 pm

Does celena change the default Gnome settings for wireless? Cause the only distro that works ok with my wireless card seems to be Mint XFCE. It is the only distro that auto connects every time by default and doesnt require me to manually type in sudo iwconfig wlan0 mode auto to get wireless to connect. If this is fixed in celena I'll download it in a heartbeat but otherwise xfce rocks too.

User avatar
Ede
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Norway

Postby Ede » Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:30 pm

Great Clem. =) I'we been looking forward to this release!

Love you man. :3

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5662
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:54 pm

Ede: I'm married, but we can be friends :lol: :lol:

jbaerbock: You might want to try to replace network-manager with Wicd, see here (alternatively you could go for a manual configuration... in network-manager):

http://www.linuxmint.com/blog/?p=14

Clem
Image

jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Postby jbaerbock » Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Hey Clem,
I did try WicD in Mint Gnome and while I am technically able to auto connect it won't without the previously mentioned sudo command. For some reason my wireless has to be made to go to mode auto before it will connect to anything. In XFCE this isn't the case, it works all the time.

Any ideas what Merlwiz did that fixed it in XFCE?

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5662
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:17 pm

What about automatically calling this command at boot time?
Image

jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Postby jbaerbock » Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:55 pm

That would work, what would I have to do to make that work? I have very limited experience with making scripts.

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5662
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:06 pm

You could add the line in the end of the /etc/gdm/PostLogin/Default file... it's messy but it would work fine.

Clem
Image


Return to “Releases & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests