Page 1 of 10

Post bugs in Daryna beta 021 here

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 6:47 am
by Husse
There seems to be few bugs, but post what you find here

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:45 am
by Alpha-Geek
Thanks. I was wondering where to post bugs. So far, Daryna has been perfect. Used for email, internet, graphics, audio & word processing.

Compiz failed

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:14 am
by acegeezer
Bug?.. Not too sure, Compiz was working and I enabled advanced desktop effects after a fresh install, but, after rebooting all functions have stopped.
I cannot get any of the enhancements to work again.
My card is nVidia 8500gt
Suggestions please.

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:07 am
by acegeezer
EDIT to Previous Post:

It seems that the Visual Effects tab within the Appearance Prefs has not responded to 'memorizing' particular selections, namely.. the "Custom" selection, which I use.
Unable to revert to any of the other available selections, ie.. None, Normal, Extra or Custom.
The system will not revert to 'default' either, for example selecting 'None' and exiting the Appearance Prefs then re-accessing Appearance Prefs and on changing say to 'Extra' it reverts back to the Custom selection.
Even on restart it does not enforce the changed mode.

Sorry for double post .. missed the 'edit' function

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:10 am
by Alpha-Geek
To make Compiz to start automatically, select Menu>preferences>sessions. Create a new entry with the command being compiz

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:21 am
by acegeezer
Thanks Alpha-Geek, I am aware of that function.. the point I am trying to make (not too clearly it seems) is the ability of the system to recognise the selections made to the Visual Effects tab within the Appearance Prefs. They revert back to the previous selection after restart.

Step by step: enter Visual effects select 'NONE' then exit.
Go back in select 'EXTRA' prompted by the system to save settings.. OK.
Save and exit. Go back in and the selections have reverted back.. that's the issue.

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:02 am
by cmost
No chance of Beryl 0.2.x being added to Daryna as an alternative to Compiz? For some reason, Compiz and Compiz-Fusion seem way too unwieldy to me. From the myriad of effects to the all-encompansing control panel applet to the cryptic command needed to start it. Perhaps I'm just used to Beryl which seems simpler (and which seems much faster to me by the way) but I strongly dislike Compiz; I don't care how many whiz-bag effects they add to it. With Celena, 3D effects were simple to setup and invoke.

On a separate note, Daryna doesn't appear to like custom gnome-screensaver lock screen dialog themes. I've created a couple of custom ones for Mint, but when I copy the files over to /usr/share/gnome-screensaver/ and modify the gconf key for gnome-screensaver in gconf-editor to specify the custom theme, the lock dialog changes to a blank white square. This is not the case in Celena, in which I'm using the exact same theme. Any ideas here? Granted, this is a very minor, minor thing...

So far, my testing of Daryna reveals a fast, rock stable system. Notable observations: (1.) Boots faster than Celena (2.) Logs in faster. (3.) Seems snappier overall on identical hardware. (4.) Gnome 2.20 is excellent!!!

Great job guys! I look forward to FINAL

mintupdate panel icon

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:45 am
by daelsta
hi,

daryna runs smooth here.

one small problem with the mintupdate panel icon.
i replaced the mintupdate icon theme but then mintupdate disappeared from the panel and i can't restore it. opening it via menu works fine.

greetz and thanks for this nice distribution
daelsta

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:56 am
by rootkowski
Hi.

Almost everything runs as it should. As mentioned above compiz is not specially responsive to changes in the settings. What I noticed is that Daryna doesn't install printers automatically (as gutsy). I don't know, maybe it was removed, but that's a pity though.

I hope I won't find any bugs ;-)

Azureus crashed shortly after start

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:57 am
by neo67
but this is a known error of azureus,
Fetch a new version of azureus from : new one

rename is to Azureus2.jar and copy it to /usr/share/java/. and azureus will run without a crash. you must do this as root.

Greetz
neo67

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 12:05 pm
by rootkowski
I guess this might be something. It comes when i click on Appearance. I hope it will help.
Image

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 12:23 pm
by wubuntu
Can't use my thinkpad-hotkeys - but it's the same problem as in gutsy. it seems to be a kernel-specific problem.

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 12:25 pm
by acegeezer
rootowski, I get the same message if rebooting for appearance changes to take effect, has to be a bug of sorts with Compiz.

Possible bug?

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:00 pm
by mindcandy
Hi, I'm a complete newb to linux so apologies if this is my fault somehow but here goes:

error msg: Executing 'grub-install (hd0)' failed. This is a fatal error.

Machine is as follows:

Dual 3.2Ghz Xeon CPU's
2Gb PC3200 Ram
4x 80Gb Hdd configured as RAID 5 via Adaptec 2400A ATA Raid controller.
Asus PCH-DL mobo
NVidia GeForce 5700

LiveCD seems to work fine although I don't seem to be able to access the hard drive (which I assume is hd0 under Linux rather than C: ).

Would love to get this up and running since Linux Mint LiveCD has impressed me considerably (I've been trying Linux every year for about 6 years now and Daryna is the first distro to find and make 'most' of my hardware work without pain).

Everything works under windows XP so I'm sure its not a hardware issue.

Ta.

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:37 pm
by Husse
Welcome to Mint mindcandy
I thought your post was more of a regular support question until I saw
4x 80Gb Hdd configured as RAID 5 via Adaptec 2400A ATA Raid controller.
Don't know if that's supported. Clem will look at this thread and has to figure that out. It seems to work under 2.4.14 but there has been oddities with new kernels and hard disk controllers

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:44 pm
by Husse
I've so far had problems with name resolution (for internet) and the solution is described here
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... e_programs
I did not have this with Cassandra and Celena - don't remember Bianca. Not sure if this is a Mint bug or my router that is behaving bad
I've also had some mysterious lockups in Firefox. FF gets dark and I can't do anything in it. Forced close and restart works great - even unsaved editing is there - like a not submitted post

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:47 pm
by mindcandy
Ok - I'll wait and see what Clem has to say - appreciate your getting back to me.

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 2:27 pm
by exploder
The Firefox problem can be resolved by enabling the "Gutsy Proposed" repo, then you can get Firefox 2.0.0.8 and you should be fine.

Also, Gnome 2.20.1 packages are availible in "Gutsy Proposed", this corrects many small bugs.

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 4:01 pm
by neo67
Husse wrote:I've so far had problems with name resolution (for internet) and the solution is described here
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... e_programs
I did not have this with Cassandra and Celena - don't remember Bianca. Not sure if this is a Mint bug or my router that is behaving bad
I've also had some mysterious lockups in Firefox. FF gets dark and I can't do anything in it. Forced close and restart works great - even unsaved editing is there - like a not submitted post
Try nslookup at the terminal and than http://www.linuxmint.com or something else.
What does it say? Its possible to resolve?
my example with Daryna:
neo@neoskiste:~$ nslookup
> http://www.suse.de
Server: 192.168.178.1
Address: 192.168.178.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
http://www.suse.de canonical name = turing.suse.de.
Name: turing.suse.de
Address: 195.135.220.3
Greetz
Neo67

Azureus vanishes after start

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 4:20 pm
by poision
Hi i found azureus started but ended without any error.Checked all possibilities but nothing found.Is this bug?