Software Portal

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.Please do not add support questions to threads here,use the appropriate support forum instead
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Software Portal

Post by antiquexray » Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:35 am

Is this right (and yes, I read the release note)? When I click the "Package Manager" icon on the menu I get the Synaptic Package Manger. When I click the "Software Portal" icon on the menu I get the Synaptic Package Manger.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:10 am

No, no that's not right.
The portal (mintInstall) does use Synaptic but you should get the mintInstall.
Have not had time to install the final version yet so I can't tell if it's a general bug, but I'm convinced it's not
And as always - the standard question
have you checked the md5sum and burned slowly?
And - yes it can be so strange that everything is OK but some detail....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Post by antiquexray » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:30 am

Husse wrote:No, no that's not right.
The portal (mintInstall) does use Synaptic but you should get the mintInstall...have you checked the md5sum and burned slowly?
md5sum matches. When I burned, I wasn't given an option on speed. I'll try burning on another system and reinstall (damn).

antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Post by antiquexray » Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:52 am

antiquexray wrote:
Husse wrote:No, no that's not right.
The portal (mintInstall) does use Synaptic but you should get the mintInstall...have you checked the md5sum and burned slowly?
md5sum matches. When I burned, I wasn't given an option on speed. I'll try burning on another system and reinstall (damn).
Burned another one (at 1x), did the md5sum thing (it's ok), same problem. Oh well, it will get sorted out sooner or later.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:45 pm

Ouch - a bug!
I get synaptic too
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Post by antiquexray » Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:53 pm

Husse wrote:Ouch - a bug!
I get synaptic too
Can you believe it? I once said I'd never want to kiss a Husse :D . Thanks! I thought I was doing something wrong.

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4067
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by clem » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:34 pm

From a fresh installed Daryna stable? I get mintInstall by clicking on "Software Portal". Can anybody else confirm?

Clem
Image

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4067
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by clem » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:37 pm

I might have an idea.. did you use an old /home partition? You might have some old configuration for mintMenu. Open a terminal and do:

gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/mintMenu

Then remove mintMenu from the panel and add it again.

Clem
Image

antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Post by antiquexray » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:46 pm

clem wrote:I might have an idea.. did you use an old /home partition? You might have some old configuration for mintMenu. Open a terminal and do:

gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/mintMenu

Then remove mintMenu from the panel and add it again.

Clem
I'll try it and get right back to you...and yes, I did use an old home partition.

antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Post by antiquexray » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:52 pm

antiquexray wrote:
clem wrote:I might have an idea.. did you use an old /home partition? You might have some old configuration for mintMenu. Open a terminal and do:

gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/mintMenu

Then remove mintMenu from the panel and add it again.

Clem
I'll try it and get right back to you...and yes, I did use an old home partition.
Clem, you're good...REAL DARN GOOD!!! That fixed it.

PS The REAL DARN GOOD was part of the show for a band I used to run the light for...guess you had to be there.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:27 am

Yupp - that worked. Seems we should have something about old home partitions in the release notes :lol:
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Post by antiquexray » Sun Nov 18, 2007 10:41 am

Husse wrote:Yupp - that worked. Seems we should have something about old home partitions in the release notes :lol:
OH COOL! I ACTUALLY DISCOVERED A BUG...yes, it's true, I thought I was doing something wrong, but still, many discoveries were done by accident :D :D :D

My slightly more then noob status is still just that...and I promise I won't let this go to my head 8)...but still...throughout history, many great discoveries have been named after the discoverer...So what do you think??? I'll entertain suggestions :wink:

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4067
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by clem » Mon Nov 19, 2007 7:40 am

That's not a bug. Everything has a trade-off.. keeping your home partition basically means keeping your old configurations so when new software behaves the way old versions did and look funny consequently because they're not configured to take advantage of new improvements, you can't call that a bug since it's exactly what you went for.

People have different needs, I personally like to start fresh. If you keep your home, then you're making your transition easier but you're not starting fresh as far as config goes.. you're starting with a fresh system using old user configuration.

It's probably fine but your attention should immediately be focused on:
- resetting gconf settings
- removing hidden folders from your home

when something goes wrong for no apparent reasons.

so no, not a bug. What you need is a mintUpgrade tool to do that for you.. :)

Clem
Image

antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Post by antiquexray » Mon Nov 19, 2007 7:46 am

clem wrote:so no, not a bug. What you need is a mintUpgrade tool to do that for you.. :) Clem
Oh darn! I was already preparing for all the interviews.

However, the you gave me fixed the Menu. Now I can't help but wonder how else my /home partition has to be cleaned. Any ideas?

kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 720
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Re: Software Portal

Post by kanishka » Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:37 am

I had the same problem and fixed it, thanks to Clem.
Now I can't help but wonder how else my /home partition has to be cleaned. Any ideas?
I'm wondering the same

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Software Portal

Post by Husse » Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:18 am

I haven't had the time to do it yet, but you have to clean the hidden folders in home.
It's the gconf and gnome ones mainly but not only
You could go by date...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Software Portal

Post by antiquexray » Tue Nov 20, 2007 10:09 am

Husse wrote:I haven't had the time to do it yet, but you have to clean the hidden folders in home.
It's the gconf and gnome ones mainly but not only
You could go by date...
Thanks Husse. The problem is I don't know how to do that, or what or how to look for them.

Perhaps someone, who isn't busy, can do one of those tutorial things. I'd do it, but see above.

(Still a noob in a holding pattern)

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Software Portal

Post by Husse » Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:26 am

I know what to do, but must admit that getting it down in writing is a bit of a challenge
When I've gone through my own home I might write something
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Software Portal

Post by antiquexray » Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:02 pm

Husse wrote:I know what to do, but must admit that getting it down in writing is a bit of a challenge
When I've gone through my own home I might write something
Thanks.

kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 720
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Re: Software Portal

Post by kanishka » Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:22 pm

Thanks so much Husse, I'd hate to cripple the lovely Daryna with my n00biness... :wink:

Locked

Return to “Releases & Announcements”