mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.Please do not add support questions to threads here,use the appropriate support forum instead
rcdeacon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby rcdeacon » Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:39 am

Actually I didn't do anything to get the hp toolbox to work in "control center". I just checked again and it still does NOT work in MintMenu.
Neither is there in any other: for there is no other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved. Acts 4:12.
Dell Dimension 4600, 1g, Nvidia 5500, Mint 4.0, Mepis 7.0, XP
Acer Aspire 5002 WLMi, 1g, Sis 760, Mint 4.0

User avatar
neo67
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby neo67 » Thu Feb 07, 2008 3:49 pm

Hello,

I try it and have a little problem, the function "show in my favorites" does not work?
I use daryna with all given updates...

neo67
Running Linux Mint 6 KDE CE on an acer TravelMate C200
LinuxMintUsers.De

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3971
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby proxima_centauri » Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:11 pm

One problem I've been having with mintMenu 3.1 is launching Wine applications. Under the 'Wine" Category it will show the programs I have installed which in this case is Minitab 15. When I click on it nothing happens. When I run it through the regular gnome menu it boots up perfectly. Also in the gnome menu, Wine -> Program Files -> etc, however in mintMenu there is no "Programs" subcategory showing up (just launchable icons). The new features are great and much easier to configure than before. I'm not quite sure what the hover function is supposed to do, when I turn it off there is no noticeable difference. And when i turn it back on, you can no longer "hover" over the categories showing the apps, you actually have to click on a category i.e. accessories, graphics, internet, etc, to show the relevant apps. Upon reboot its back to normal. (which is a shame because I kinda like that way better).

User avatar
Paul_Vandenberg
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:11 pm
Location: Canada

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby Paul_Vandenberg » Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:47 am

Awesome menu! This is the major reason that I prefer Mint over other distros! Keep up the good work! It is much better than SUSE's Slab menu.

Paul

User avatar
Zero Prime
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:50 pm
Location: Sumter, SC USA

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby Zero Prime » Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:00 pm

I followed the instruction twice but MintMenu 3.0 still gets installed. Romeo is enabled, I checked for some programs that are only in Romeo to make sure. Any way around this?
Image

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5651
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby clem » Sun Feb 24, 2008 8:19 am

In the worst case you can always get the deb here: http://linuxmint.com/repository/pool/daryna/m/mintmenu/

Clem
Image

User avatar
Erkenntnis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby Erkenntnis » Sun Feb 24, 2008 5:55 pm

I think mintMenu 3.1 is far and away the best of any "start menu" that I've seen from any distribution, and it's a big reason why I count myself as a Mint user now. It is simple, efficient, logically laid out, and even quite nice-looking, both the menu in and of itself and for the fact that it keeps my desktop uncluttered!

Thanks for all you do, and I hope that the good work continues! I use the Mint version of Google search as much as possible to repay the favor.
Image
System: Linux Mint 4.0 Daryna on an HP Pavilion ze4800

MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby MagnusB » Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:19 am

I found a small bug, not sure if it is mentioned here. Using the recent documents plugin and trying to access a document that does not exists will lock the computer, and I have to restart X (ctrl + alt + Backspace)in order to get control again. I could post a screenshot, but that requires me to lock my computer so..
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin


Return to “Releases & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests