Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.Please do not add support questions to threads here,use the appropriate support forum instead
deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 707
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by deadguy »

VaMPiRiC_CRoW wrote:I can't use my USB external drives with Mint KDE... :(
It give me the "hal-storage-fixed-mount refused uid X" error...
this was in an earlier post....
ssbfalcon wrote:If anyone's having problems mounting partitions, such as an NTFS partition you're forced to keep, try this...

I recommend the second solution this link posted...

http://languor.us/hal-storage-fixed-mou ... d-uid-1000
the second solution in this link has worked for me in both kde daryna and kde cassandra(ntfs and fat32 externals)
although I do wish it was easier.
deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 707
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by deadguy »

well, I've been using daryna kde ce beta 044 for a day now and I
must say I love it!!!! :D :D :D :D :D

excellent work Boo!!
deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 707
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by deadguy »

ssbfalcon wrote:
Husse wrote:This much I know about KDE that there is no Synaptic - it has Adept instead
hal-storage-fixed-mount refused uid X
This seems to be an unfortunately rather common KDE error

It's actually a ubuntu/kubuntu error. It's an effect of how HAL works when you don't have policykit installed... Most distros have it by default, but for some reason the ubuntu's don't...

Don't worry though, the next *buntu version is slated to have PolicyKit included by default, which should eliminate this problem finally...
Glad to hear this!!!! :D
User avatar
starkey
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by starkey »

Hi, I have a problem with OpenOffice and compiz, whe I start it, it fills all the screen, with no borders, and it's impossible to modify the size, also doesn't let me use the menus (File, Edit, Insert,etc), the only way I can use it is disabling the 3d Effects, start Openoffice and enabling the 3D Effects.

Image
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by Boo »

this is a known compiz problem.
to fix:
open compiz config settings manager--> utility --> workarounds
un-tick "legacy fullscreen support"
and presto it is fixed.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
starkey
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by starkey »

Thank you so much, Boo :D :D :D :D
sridhar

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by sridhar »

Unfortunately I cannot play DVD's which I could in the Gnome release.
Any pointers?
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3337
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by Fred »

Clem, Boo,

This is turning out to be one of the best betas I have seen in quite a while. And I have looked at a few. :-)

Other than general polishing I only see a couple issues that really need resolving before the final.

1) The message.mint problem I mentioned in another post. Currently you won't get the nice boot screen if you have a separate /boot partition. There is an easy work around listed in my other post but suspect most of your target audience will not be able to work it out.

2) This one is a bit more complicated. This problem is showing up on 3 different machines. Different motherboards, disk arrangements, amounts of ram, and BIOSs. The only thing they have in common is Intel processors. And then not the same one. Two single core and one double core. The problem is when the system has been running and being used for 3 or 4 hours it gets slower and slower. It seems to show up first in Firefox but I don't know if this is the bad guy or not since Firefox is a bit of a resource hog to begin with. It gets to the point that you scroll with the mouse and have to wait a second or two for the screen to respond. Or you type and the key board is so far ahead of the screen it becomes unusable. You can see the same thing in Kate, Open Office, and Konq. Though not as bad as in Firefox. On boot up it is not quite as fast as Kubuntu, but it is close enough. It is only after a number of hours of use that this problem begins to show up. I am not running out of memory. The system is using only slightly more memory after 4 hours as it does shortly after boot-up. I strongly suspect a resource depletion problem but haven't been able to put my finger on it. If others are having this problem too this is a real show stopper. If you need any further info that I might be able to supply, feel free to pm me.

On your way to an excellent release! :)

Thanks,

Fred
Last edited by Fred on Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
FabioFabio

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by FabioFabio »

I post from Ladispoli, Rome, Italy.
Sorry for my English.
I had problem during installation process.
The system sets the screen resolution at a too much high level for my crt monitor (LG FLATRON 775FT).
Over 1280x1024. The result is that my monitor turn itself off. All the installation process proceed whit the black
screen. At the end, I see the Hard disk and CD leds, I resume the monitor visibility whit Ctrl+Alt+Del key just the time
to send the reboot command. After reboot I set a different screen resolution from the system setting panel.
Apart from that problem your linux distribution is SIMPLY THE BEST KDE DISTRIBUTION I NEVER SEEN.
I love you.
Bye.
tsinghan

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by tsinghan »

I want to know how to install it from Hard disk ISO image? For I have no DVD-RW
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods
Contact:

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by Zwopper »

tsinghan wrote:I want to know how to install it from Hard disk ISO image? For I have no DVD-RW
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... =usb+stick
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Band - Electric Alchemea
CREA DIEM!

Lenovo U330P | i5 | 16GB | 128GB - SSD | Elemantary OS 0.4
tsinghan

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by tsinghan »

Thank you.

Zwopper wrote:
tsinghan wrote:I want to know how to install it from Hard disk ISO image? For I have no DVD-RW
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... =usb+stick
Terry

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by Terry »

My system is an HP DC7700 duo core 2 1.8GHZ
Probelm: sound does not run on any games I installed like: PPRACER and SuperTux. All my system sounds work fine.

I did try to execute alsaconf from cosole as root but it says no such command exists.

What is the problem? Any solutions.

Terry
Helmut
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by Helmut »

I'm just wondering if a
Mint Daryna KDE Final Version
will see the light of day...? Is anything planned, is Beta 044 regarded as good enough?
Helmut
User avatar
Sorensei
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by Sorensei »

... it will, it will... if I've got it right, Boo has the final version "ready", it is now being tested by Exploder and after him, Clem has to give his final approval - and then we'll have it!
Someday... :wink:
I don't have a solution, but I do admire the problem.
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by Boo »

OOps more delays...
I am having language problems at install (unless you want english).
the installer installs the gnome language pack instead of the KDE one...
eg I choose french and it installs language-pack-gnome-fr instead of language-pack-kde-fr.
the work around is to install the kde lang pack after install

apt install language-pack-kde-fr

a bit messy though.

back to searching

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by Boo »

OK i have fixed the language problem.
upload tonight

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by Boo »

Ati or Nvidia driver problems are out of our scope to fix.
These problems must be fixed by Ati and Nvidia.
I just use envy to install my nvidia driver, and I have never had a problem.
but that could be because I use nvidia cards, and why also.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
foggytown
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA usa
Contact:

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by foggytown »

Boo wrote:OK i have fixed the language problem.
upload tonight

Boo
Boo,
Thank you for all of your work.
Also, congratulations on keeping your cool and remaining focused despite one person's comments above. Not all of us have such a sense of entitlement to other people's work.
I am very grateful for your time and effort on this release.
--john
Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.
--Aldous Huxley
User avatar
foggytown
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA usa
Contact:

Re: Daryna KDE CE BETA 044 is out!

Post by foggytown »

Bantam wrote: Sense of entitlement?

NO, i simply would like a product to work the way it is supposed to work, and when it does not work that way i inform those in charge of said product of the problems so they can be looked at and hopefully repaired! I would like to see tis product work to its full capacity!!! and the only way of doing so is notifying the powers that be of what is wrong, after all this is a beta still and thats how betas work my friend!!!
not once did you see me put this product down!
what you read was my disappointment in the product, and tried to add a little sense of humor to it. apparently you are the only one that has a problem here..

again i will say this....one the problem is solved that i have with the ati drivers i will most definetley go back to using mint! is it hands down one of the finest distros i have seen.
before you "Shoot from the hip" next time understand what is being said 1st !
With 120 comments in this thread, why would you think I was referring to you?
Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.
--Aldous Huxley
Locked

Return to “Releases & Announcements”