Unity on Maya - workspace spreader.

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5139
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Unity on Maya - workspace spreader.

Postby viking777 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:56 am

When I do Windows/s to spread the windows on Unity it looks like this:

Image

That looks as though I have 4 workspaces with only one application open on workspace 1. But that is not the case. Because of the weird way in which the 'spread' works on multi monitors, what you are seeing is only workspaces 1 and 3. Workspaces 2 and 4 are shown on the other monitor.

I find this highly confusing and would like to change it so that all 4 workspaces are shown on the main monitor not just the left hand ones.

Anyone know how to do it?
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

dalcde
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 8:15 am

Re: Unity on Maya - workspace spreader.

Postby dalcde » Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:07 am

I'd say you post this question on the ubuntu forums. We've got more Unity users there since Mint doesn't support Unity.

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5139
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Unity on Maya - workspace spreader.

Postby viking777 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:30 am

Then they would say - we don't support Linux MInt, ask there. Anyway I would have to rejoin the Ubuntu forums but I am already a member of this one.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

dalcde
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 8:15 am

Re: Unity on Maya - workspace spreader.

Postby dalcde » Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:35 am

If you say so. I'm just thinking that you won't get much support here.

User avatar
gooby.pls
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:19 pm
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: Unity on Maya - workspace spreader.

Postby gooby.pls » Sun Jul 29, 2012 11:14 am

It looks even weirder if your displays aren't the same size (mine are 1920x1080 and 1280x1024), and it's an old bug in compiz. It's supposed to be fixed in the next ubuntu release, so I guess that all unity users will get the fix then. http://design.canonical.com/2012/03/tas ... he-spread/ http://www.muktware.com/articles/3416/h ... ead-design

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5139
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Unity on Maya - workspace spreader.

Postby viking777 » Sun Jul 29, 2012 12:53 pm

Thanks for that info gooby.pls.

Like yourself I have two different resolution screens (1280x1024 and 1280x800)

Good to know it is being worked on.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).


Return to “Others”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest