Installed Gnome and Stuck in a Black screen with Mouse Point

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Petreanko

Installed Gnome and Stuck in a Black screen with Mouse Point

Post by Petreanko »

Hello All,

I am a newbie here and I recently downloaded and installed Linux Mint 15 64bit, I am loving it with all my heart and I think I wouldn't be turning towards Windows again or atleast for a while. I have been looking at a few threads and tried install gnome.. all this while I was using cinnamon

I happened to stumble upon this thread : http://mambochimbo.blogspot.in/2013/05/to-do-top-things-to-do-after-installing_19.html?showComment=1371999671669#c7445722450107776534 and decided to try Gnome 3

I followed the steps as for the gnome 3 installation

Steps as given in the link :

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gnome3-team/gnome3
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install gnome-shell

all went well without any errors... after working or playing around a while in Linux I rebooted my computer

I was presented with a different login screen than I usually see and I logged in and Bam as soon as I login I am presented with a Black screen and Mouse pointer, no matter how long I leave it it stays same.

Could someone please help me to get gnome running or help me to get back to Cinnamon... I don't want to go back to windows

I tried googling around for Black screen and mouse pointer in Gnome and followed a few steps as mentioned in couple of searches

I tried a few google tricks and this is what I get
1 I got CTRL+ALT +F1 and then login and press w and enter

Output is :

username tty from login tdle jcpu pcpu what
name tty1 14:42 31:24 0.9s 0,00s w
name tty7 :2 14:59 31:23 1.90s 0.04s gdm-session-wor

now I did the next step

2) export DISPLAY=:2.0

no errors or no output.. just back to the prompt.

then on to next step
3)gnome-shell --replace