Replace panel (task bar) in LXDE with something better

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ModalMan

Replace panel (task bar) in LXDE with something better

Post by ModalMan »

I am new to using the LXDE desktop. I like it cause it doesn't demand as much resources as KDE. I want to REPLACE the stock LXDE panel or task bar (at bottom of screen) because it is very limited and won't let me add things to it like the web browser, calculator. Instead I have to just add those things to the desktop as icons. Works fine. But I'd rather have a less cluttered desktop. The stock task bar is quirky and not easy to work with.
I saw online somebody suggested the "Whisker menu" and how nice it was. So I apt-get installed it....went thru OK I guess, but how do I find/configure it? I apparently must have installed it OK cause there were no errors when it was done. But I can't find it anywhere or how to find it. I looked all thru my main menu....not there. I looked around in desktop configuration....nothing.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
frankt

Re: Replace panel (task bar) in LXDE with something better

Post by frankt »

This might get you going:

Right click the panel. This will open a menu window. Select the Panel Setting option with a left click.
This will open another menu window. The first tab is Geometry where you can select the location of panel to be placed: top, bottom, left or right on your screen.
I like the top with left alignment. That lets me have the rest of the desktop for whatever I want.