Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
HOOHAA
Level 1
Level 1

Mint 9 LXDE installed on Omni Book 4150 PII Laptop

Post by HOOHAA »

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here. However, I'm not new to Linux, I've been using Linux for the past 2 months or a bit more. But yes, overall a very beginner user to Linux :)

I know the title of this thread could be shocking and it would be even more when you'll come to know that I just installed Linux Mint 9 LXDE on a 12 old laptop with PII CPU @ 366MHz, 64MB of RAM (PC-100), 4.5GB HDD and that laptop has NO CD-DRIVE (it's dead), NO Floppy Drive, NO LAN port, One USB 1.0 port. The HDD was almost dead but I found a tool to format it and fix the bad sector/blocks.

Installation done by connecting the HDD of that laptop to my PC through a mobile HDD enclosure with an USB connection.

It's quite long story. I've been trying to breath new Linux life in that laptop for a month or so. I don't really want to go through that but imagine a 30 days and nights of hard working until I made it. I didn't want to install Mint as it's so slow (I know the minimum system requirement for Mint and LXDE - Thank you :) ) but I had no choice ... that was the only way as the other 10-15 distribution failed to bootup the laptop after installation.

Now, after this short introduction ... I'd like to know:

1) Is there anyway I could install a very light desktop manager instead of LXDE? HOW?

2) If the answer of Q.1 is YES then how can I remove/un-install LXDE and keep the other one?

3) What else I could do to make it faster? any way to tweak and play around so that it would be faster?

Note that laptop "had" Windows XP SP2 and it was SO MUCH SLOW even though XP could be run under such specifications. Mint now is slow but a bit faster than XP overall.

Thank you so much!

P.S.