Terrible Display quality in Gnome 3 [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Volunteer4F
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:48 am

Terrible Display quality in Gnome 3 [SOLVED]

Post by Volunteer4F » Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:02 am

Does Any one have seen a DVD with totem in this Gnome 3 thing ?
Terribly Awful Output on monitor I have seen .
A a a a y y y y Hate GNOME3 ! ! !
:(
Plying Rango DVD in totem full screen at Gnome3
Last edited by Volunteer4F on Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6725
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Terrible Display quality in Gnome 3

Post by AlbertP » Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:08 am

If you have terrible display quality with Gnome 3, then it's usually a graphics driver issue. Do you have ATI/AMD graphics? Please install the latest Catalyst Linux driver from AMD's website in that case.

Gnome 3 itself does not have bad display quality. The graphics drivers of certain manufacturers are just !@#$%^&*() when used with Gnome 3.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

Volunteer4F
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:48 am

Re: Terrible Display quality in Gnome 3 [SOLVED]

Post by Volunteer4F » Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:18 pm

Thank you for attention dude
I have a Laptop : Fujitsu Siemens Esprimo mobile V6535 VGA Intel Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA) 4500M 256mb.

I had installed from Mint 6 til today also mint 11 , 12 , LMDE 2011/09
I feel flying with LMDE , its cool
while there was gnome2 i had no problem but , in mint 12 . desktop is some eye candy just like an ipad i don't like it at all.

My touch pad turned to a headache in Gnome3 , where is mint menu key ? (ctrl + super key) why NO right click on desktop and No editing option for task bar ? every thing is frozen .
always i have been thinking that the goal of Gnome is being middle light weight , but it seems no longer in this way

i have done a special update for my LMDE from debian original repository completely and then i had a LMDE with Gnome3
But when i was playing RANGO DVD in full screen Totem, i saw something like noise on screen just like you see an old film with some noies and flicker.
what i told was experiences of a semi noob Linux Lover
now i must confess , i was completely wrong
that was a totem Problem in Gnome3

How ever , even rango problem was a mistake but i don't like to trade my Keyboard powered Gnome2 with this Toy Named Gnome3
IS THIS ? USERS FAULT ? if they don't want it !
what if the Gnome team Had Made a New Line , a Brand new Display manager , New Branch of Gnome and let the Classic Gnome in its own way !?
.
Last edited by Volunteer4F on Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6725
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Terrible Display quality in Gnome 3 [SOLVED]

Post by AlbertP » Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:30 pm

You can switch to Mate with the gear icon on the login screen. That desktop is the continuation of good old Gnome 2.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

Volunteer4F
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:48 am

Re: Terrible Display quality in Gnome 3 [SOLVED]

Post by Volunteer4F » Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:29 am

.
Yes you are right , but it is in mint 12 Ubuntu base that i dont like it ( it runs more slow than LMDE on my low price machin). I have both of them installed , LMDE with Gnome 3 and mint 12.

the system setting in Mate is the same as gnome option on that GEAR. i remember that was much more configureable before !
can not do any change in menu bar and network settings can not create new ip sets to wired connections
i coud do right click in my LMDE with touchpad pad with two fingers tap but it's no more in Gnome 3 and pad works so bad with lags

WHAT HAPPENED TO GNOME ?
it seems it steps into the ways that I escaped from

I said before , i have changed my repository list and had a big update
Now , my repo is :
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free
deb-src http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free

I think my dist is not LMDE anymore it seems to be Debian testing with minty multimedia codecs
i payed too much internet traffic for that updates ,

i thing i have to spend more time and search every linux forums to fix my problems ONE by ONE
of course if my minty friends helps me to solve this personal crysis , it will done sooner and easier
Thanks for help.

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6725
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Terrible Display quality in Gnome 3 [SOLVED]

Post by AlbertP » Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:43 pm

Perhaps you used an old ISO of LMDE which did not yet have update packs.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

Volunteer4F
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:48 am

Re: Terrible Display quality in Gnome 3 [SOLVED]

Post by Volunteer4F » Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:08 pm

.
ya it was relased @ 2011/09 and i didn't get update pack . bud a reason to chang the repo was the dependency hell ( breaked packages ) that i met seriously . i coud not even install OGMRIP or wine.

IS there any way back to Gnome 2x ? ? ?
I feel pain in this situation , when i disable wireless in netwok manager ,then there is no way to turn it on but restartin system :(

how many problems of this Gnome3 i have to count , to people believe me that it is not what we used to LOVE

Post Reply

Return to “Others”