No mintmenu button

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
OnYourLips
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:37 pm

No mintmenu button

Post by OnYourLips » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:47 pm

I installed the last version of mint.
Here is the DM screen:
Ubuntu-2012-03-02-10-27-10.png
Ubuntu-2012-03-02-10-27-10.png (47.6 KiB) Viewed 1808 times
Is it gnome 3?
There is no mintmenu on the panel. How can I add it?
When I run it in console, ot opens in a separate window.
Ubuntu-2012-03-02-10-29-25.png
Ubuntu-2012-03-02-10-29-25.png (44.21 KiB) Viewed 1808 times
There is a mintmenu in Mate, but I prefer to use gnome 3.
How can I add it to panel?

remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7641
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: No mintmenu button

Post by remoulder » Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:32 am

[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.

OnYourLips
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:37 pm

Re: No mintmenu button

Post by OnYourLips » Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:22 am

I didn't find anything to solve this problem in that thread.
mintmenu package is installed.
And there is no "mint menu" item in "Add to panel" dialog.

P.S. VMWare, but with all VMWare drivers including 3D.

Daniel4lm
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 7:14 am

Re: No mintmenu button

Post by Daniel4lm » Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:23 am

OnYourLips wrote:I installed the last version of mint.
Here is the DM screen:
Screenshot
Is it gnome 3?
There is no mintmenu on the panel. How can I add it?
When I run it in console, ot opens in a separate window.
Screenshot
There is a mintmenu in Mate, but I prefer to use gnome 3.
How can I add it to panel?
If you use Gnome 3 with Gnome shell or Cinnamon shell, mintMenu is not present, because Gnome/Cinnamon shell have their own menus. You can use mintMenu only in Gnome 3 Classic (Fallback mode) or in Mate environment.

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3962
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: No mintmenu button

Post by proxima_centauri » Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:49 am

OnYourLips wrote:P.S. VMWare, but with all VMWare drivers including 3D.
Are you sure it's giving you the full GNOME3 session, and not reverting to GNOME3 fallback?
Can you post a full screenshot of a clean desktop?

OnYourLips
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:37 pm

Re: No mintmenu button

Post by OnYourLips » Sun Mar 25, 2012 2:17 am

You can use mintMenu only in Gnome 3 Classic (Fallback mode) or in Mate environment.
In standard menu there are no "Administration" and "Preferences" sections.
Are you sure it's giving you the full GNOME3 session, and not reverting to GNOME3 fallback?
I attached a screenshot.
Alsoo look at screenshot of DM in post #1.
Attachments
Ubuntu-2012-03-25-12-56-09.png
Ubuntu-2012-03-25-12-56-09.png (399.67 KiB) Viewed 1704 times

OnYourLips
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:37 pm

Re: No mintmenu button

Post by OnYourLips » Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:13 am

Any ideas?

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3012
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: No mintmenu button

Post by Monsta » Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:53 pm

OnYourLips wrote:There is a mintmenu in Mate, but I prefer to use gnome 3.
Then the solution is to forget about mintMenu.
It's already been discussed several times:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=205&t=87869
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=88155

The other solution is to install Cinnamon and forget about both Gnome Shell and Classic. Your last screenshot shows you're using Gnome Classic anyway, so I guess you won't be missing Gnome Shell. :)
There are some nice Cinnamon applets available - like this classic menu.

User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: No mintmenu button

Post by bimsebasse » Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:56 pm

There is no Mint menu in the default login session ("Gnome"), only MATE has the old Mint menu.
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Others”