"connected to wired network" but browser no internet access

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Paranoidx

"connected to wired network" but browser no internet access

Post by Paranoidx »

My network status says I'm connected to wired network but firefox gives me a server cannot be found message.
This is only at work. At home I have no issues with the same system.
At work, i have plenty of other systems running on the network without any problems.

I'm a complete newb here and have no linux troubleshooting skills.

I was able to ping my router a 192.168.10.1
and here is what ifconfig gave me

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:25:22:67:19:a6
inet addr:192.168.10.110 Bcast:192.168.10.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::225:22ff:fe67:19a6/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:702 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1345 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:64029 (64.0 KB) TX bytes:143559 (143.5 KB)
Interrupt:43 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:240 (240.0 B) TX bytes:240 (240.0 B)

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
viking777

Re: "connected to wired network" but browser no internet acc

Post by viking777 »

Run the command

Code: Select all

nslookup google.com
It just checks your dns server. No result=no dns server.
Paranoidx

Post by Paranoidx »