DNS forwarding

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

DNS forwarding

Post by Husse » Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:54 am

To connect to the internet I normally don't have to change anything - Firefox and Thunderbird just connects. But with Synaptics and "apt-get" its different. They don't connect unless I go into "Network settings" and activate a location where the IP to my ISP's DNS are set under the DNS section.
If I don't do that the IP of my router is set there instead.
So it seems that FF and Tbird can use DNS forwarding and Synaptics not, which can be a bit irritating when you install something.
Anyone with a solution?
This is really my earlier post
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1410
seen "the other way round".
This is one of the few remaining issues before I'm ready to donate to Mint.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by pashabear » Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:42 am

I have the same problem, (have been hashing it out in my own post: http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1231)
but with the added frustration of not having a DNS IP address for my provider - which means I can't use Synaptic at all!
Husse, what is your setup for connecting to the Internet? Do you use an ADSL modem alone, a modem + router, or something else? I'm using both a modem and a router, both are D-Link.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:40 am

Hmmm
Could Dlink be the culprit? I use a Dlink ADSL modem/router (DSL 504T)
If I don't tamper with the network settings the DNS IP is always set to 192.168.1.1 which is the router. This is the DNS server of my router and it should ask "the world" to resolve any adress and transfer it to the appliction that asked.
Is there a possiblity that Synaptics thinks something is wrong as this is an address on a private net?
Other applications as Firefox and Thunderbird works
and we are obviously two experiencing the same.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Thu Mar 08, 2007 8:24 am

Maybee this problem is limited to a few systems?
One other thing that might be the culprit is if Synaptics times out to fast so that it "gives up" before a connection is established. I don't have any leads but will try to figure out what's happening
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by pashabear » Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:36 am

I don't think it's a time out problem, the funny ip addresses we get (for example with apt-get update) says there's something stranger going on...

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Sat Mar 10, 2007 10:45 am

The solution to this is found in my trobleshooter
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... ur_Live_CD
I've yet to figure out how to get a link on the main page
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by pashabear » Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:42 am

Your solution worked for me, THANKS!

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”